Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 6, 2011 | 9:56 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place August 8, 2011
  • Weekly 2nd Place August 9, 2011

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

The Anthem of the Gamer.

The World is Saved is a new epic song and anthem for video game fans. Made in the pixel-art style of SNES (Super Nintendo) cutscenes, this video was a collaborative effort from IGN's Podcast Beyond community. IGN's Ryan Clements pulled together a small team of volunteers to animate a video for Danny Wiessner's latest single. The video debuted at the end of the live recording of Podcast Beyond Episode 200, which can be viewed here: http://ps3.ign.com/articles/118/1186511p1.html

Please support Danny by purchasing his song! Now on Itunes!

Credits:
Music written and performed by Danny Wiessner.
Art by pandamusk, Benjamin A. Smith (Ekublai), and Michael Hruby (Wastedkitten).
Artwork Referenced: "Fireside Chat" by Matt Rhodes.
http://mattrhodesart.blogspot.com/2010/11/fireside-chat.htm
Editing by Sam Alegria.

The World is Saved single is available for purchase on iTunes.

Follow Us on Twitter: Danny @tuanews, Ben @Ekublai, pandamusk @pandamusk, Michael @wastedkitten, and Sam @SamAlegria

Also on Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wBzqOa9y02I

Update: FRONTPAGE! WEEKLY 2nd! DAILY 2nd! #2 All-time! 2 is our magic number apparently! Thank you so much Newgrounds!
Update V2: Neglected to credit Matt Rhodes for his reference art: http://mattrhodesart.blog spot.com/2010/11/fireside-chat.htm

Reviews


CodeWolfeCodeWolfe

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 20, 2013

Unlike some of the other folks here, I was there not only for the SNES generation, but the NES one too. I remember the nights spent up until 2 in the morning as a kid and everything in this song resonates except for a single thing: not all of us were or are playing alone. In fact, I think that is why some of us play MMOs and RPGs or D&D; the memories are even better when you have folks to share them with.

All in all, this is excellent.


People find this review helpful!

skyrimfan11skyrimfan11

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 13, 2013

Hmmm... I'll give you one guess to what game I thought of while watching this.



MasterBlackwingsMasterBlackwings

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 12, 2013

note: does not apply to spec ops: the line.


People find this review helpful!
EKublai responds:

true


ladderchairladderchair

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 19, 2012

skyrim lol=3



PixelcornPixelcorn

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 7, 2012

AWESOME song, absolutely love it. everytime, that song gives me a goosebump-flashback to all the great moments i have had with videogames: the playthrough of half-life, my emotional experience with zelda - links awakening, the brilliant and funny time with friends and other people in world of warcraft and all the other stuff. great, fucking great.


People find this review helpful!