Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 6, 2011 | 9:56 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place August 8, 2011
  • Weekly 2nd Place August 9, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

The Anthem of the Gamer.

The World is Saved is a new epic song and anthem for video game fans. Made in the pixel-art style of SNES (Super Nintendo) cutscenes, this video was a collaborative effort from IGN's Podcast Beyond community. IGN's Ryan Clements pulled together a small team of volunteers to animate a video for Danny Wiessner's latest single. The video debuted at the end of the live recording of Podcast Beyond Episode 200, which can be viewed here: http://ps3.ign.com/articl es/118/1186511p1.html

Please support Danny by purchasing his song! Now on Itunes!

Credits:
Music written and performed by Danny Wiessner.
Art by pandamusk, Benjamin A. Smith (Ekublai), and Michael Hruby (Wastedkitten).
Artwork Referenced: "Fireside Chat" by Matt Rhodes.
http://mattrhodesart.blog spot.com/2010/11/fireside -chat.htm
Editing by Sam Alegria.

The World is Saved single is available for purchase on iTunes.

Follow Us on Twitter: Danny @tuanews, Ben @Ekublai, pandamusk @pandamusk, Michael @wastedkitten, and Sam @SamAlegria

Watch the HD version on Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/wa tch?v=wBzqOa9y02I

Update: FRONTPAGE! WEEKLY 2nd! DAILY 2nd! #2 All-time! 2 is our magic number apparently! Thank you so much Newgrounds!
Update V2: Neglected to credit Matt Rhodes for his reference art: http://mattrhodesart.blog spot.com/2010/11/fireside -chat.htm

Reviews


SirDerpinsteinSirDerpinstein

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 8, 2011

Awesome song, dude!

THAT would be my favorite video game of all time. It reminds me so much of the ending to The Bard's Tale...



AdimantherAdimanther

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 8, 2011

Special

The first entry for the week is certainly amazing, but this one song and animation are just special for a gamer in indescribable ways. 5/5, 10/10, added to favorites.


People find this review helpful!
EKublai responds:

Thanks. Yeah, it's kind of hard to compete against THAT.


Wooper101Wooper101

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 8, 2011

The message

It's true. even if we beat the game, it might not be the only reason we got it. we got it for reasons-

Beat it

Enjoy it


People find this review helpful!

LUC1F3RLUC1F3R

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 8, 2011

wow

this is amazing, love the song and the retro animation


People find this review helpful!

delusionalsykodelusionalsyko

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 7, 2011

Amazing Art, Song

The song's great on its own, but the animation is what makes this absolutely amazing; the two couldn't possibly go together any better. The art's retro enough to inspire all sorts of nostalgia, and at the same time it's more moving than anything I actually remember from the era it's paying respect to.

Fantastic piece.


People find this review helpful!
EKublai responds:

Thanks alot. Your words are much appreciated.