Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 6, 2011 | 9:56 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place August 8, 2011
  • Weekly 2nd Place August 9, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

The Anthem of the Gamer.

The World is Saved is a new epic song and anthem for video game fans. Made in the pixel-art style of SNES (Super Nintendo) cutscenes, this video was a collaborative effort from IGN's Podcast Beyond community. IGN's Ryan Clements pulled together a small team of volunteers to animate a video for Danny Wiessner's latest single. The video debuted at the end of the live recording of Podcast Beyond Episode 200, which can be viewed here: http://ps3.ign.com/articles/118/1186511p1.html

Please support Danny by purchasing his song! Now on Itunes!

Credits:
Music written and performed by Danny Wiessner.
Art by pandamusk, Benjamin A. Smith (Ekublai), and Michael Hruby (Wastedkitten).
Artwork Referenced: "Fireside Chat" by Matt Rhodes.
http://mattrhodesart.blogspot.com/2010/11/fireside-chat.htm
Editing by Sam Alegria.

The World is Saved single is available for purchase on iTunes.

Follow Us on Twitter: Danny @tuanews, Ben @Ekublai, pandamusk @pandamusk, Michael @wastedkitten, and Sam @SamAlegria

Also on Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wBzqOa9y02I

Update: FRONTPAGE! WEEKLY 2nd! DAILY 2nd! #2 All-time! 2 is our magic number apparently! Thank you so much Newgrounds!
Update V2: Neglected to credit Matt Rhodes for his reference art: http://mattrhodesart.blog spot.com/2010/11/fireside-chat.htm

Reviews


killergooniekillergoonie

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 11, 2011

THIS SHALL

BE MY GAMER SONG TILL I DIE. the art was beautiful and the song it self was very awesome. but it's also true to why gamers play games. we play for the end, to have the experience in the first place, not for quick fun or anything else. we take away something more and learn more about ourselves. thats what video games are really all about.

also the pain of your eyes/brain hurting and stomach empty is for only beginner gamers. not for the vets of games.



FuZaKe-JesterFuZaKe-Jester

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 11, 2011

all i have to say

For The Gamer By The Gamer


People find this review helpful!

Really-UnluckyReally-Unlucky

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 11, 2011

This song will go down in internet history.

An absolutely beautiful and instantly classic rendition about what goes on in the mind of a gamer.

The lyrics were powerful, the visuals breathtaking, the vocals and instrumentals incredible. My only complaint is that this submission did not receive the first place which I wholeheartedly feel it deserves.

What more can be said? If gaming plays an important role in your life, you must watch this video, for spoken words have never been truer.


People find this review helpful!

AL3KAL3K

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 11, 2011

...well..

It's not my style, really, but IT IS EPIC, and for that I can't vote 4 or 9 or lower...
Besides... I've never seen a musical animation about the epic experiences of a true Gamer.... so.. yeah, it's pretty cool...
Grats the FP and the awesome epicness you did an outstanding job :D



RaveDriftRaveDrift

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 11, 2011

An epic epic of epic epicness

I love this song; I want it in my personal library of music so I can listen to it even when my computer isn't around. I'd pay money for this song, and I don't often do that with music!