Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 6, 2011 | 9:56 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place August 8, 2011
  • Weekly 2nd Place August 9, 2011

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

The Anthem of the Gamer.

The World is Saved is a new epic song and anthem for video game fans. Made in the pixel-art style of SNES (Super Nintendo) cutscenes, this video was a collaborative effort from IGN's Podcast Beyond community. IGN's Ryan Clements pulled together a small team of volunteers to animate a video for Danny Wiessner's latest single. The video debuted at the end of the live recording of Podcast Beyond Episode 200, which can be viewed here: http://ps3.ign.com/articles/118/1186511p1.html

Please support Danny by purchasing his song! Now on Itunes!

Credits:
Music written and performed by Danny Wiessner.
Art by pandamusk, Benjamin A. Smith (Ekublai), and Michael Hruby (Wastedkitten).
Artwork Referenced: "Fireside Chat" by Matt Rhodes.
http://mattrhodesart.blogspot.com/2010/11/fireside-chat.htm
Editing by Sam Alegria.

The World is Saved single is available for purchase on iTunes.

Follow Us on Twitter: Danny @tuanews, Ben @Ekublai, pandamusk @pandamusk, Michael @wastedkitten, and Sam @SamAlegria

Also on Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wBzqOa9y02I

Update: FRONTPAGE! WEEKLY 2nd! DAILY 2nd! #2 All-time! 2 is our magic number apparently! Thank you so much Newgrounds!
Update V2: Neglected to credit Matt Rhodes for his reference art: http://mattrhodesart.blog spot.com/2010/11/fireside-chat.htm

Reviews


PiedayPieday

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 11, 2011

Speaks to gamers for definate :)

Not only an awsome sounding song, also relatable, and cool artwok.
I'm sure all gamers can say they spend a fair amount of their time constantly trying to get past a part in a game, and when they do SUCCESS!....but sadness because now it's over, hehe i often limit my game playing when i near the end just because i don't want it to end ^_^
....hmmm could this song end the bloodbath known as the console war?



EncycloneEncyclone

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 11, 2011

This song reminds me of why we gamers game.

I remember when I was just a little kid playing my first video game, which was Super Mario World 3 for the Nintendo Game Boy Advanced. I would strain my eyes under a lamp for hours on end trying to find the princess. When I finally did so, I felt so happy. Then I realized that there were 100 other levels that I missed when I skipped into the last world using the keyhole from world two, level one. I went back and played all of the levels. I still wish that more wholesome games like that existed on the planet. I also loved playing the Megaman Battle Network series, Pokemon (GBA), and other games that were awesome.



MajinMaianMajinMaian

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 11, 2011

I liked this, thumbs up!

Theres always disappointment when you achieve the completion of a game, but then you start remembering the journey and it makes it all worth while.

Thats why cheaters don't enjoy games.


People find this review helpful!

MagicTeddyMagicTeddy

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 11, 2011

good shit man, good shit.

now i know why i play. though console is nothing for me. i prefer my 101-computerkeyboard



sasukesamurai555sasukesamurai555

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 11, 2011

And this is why...

...We play games more than once. It's all about doing it better, faster, more heroic; it's mostly about reliving the experiences that the game brought us, but it's never quite as good as the first time around.