Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 25, 2011 | 9:19 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature July 27, 2011
  • Weekly 4th Place July 26, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

YOU GOTTA SHARE 5 Points Share this mind-bending space-rending life-ending game with your enemies.
BLACK AND WHITE 25 Points Complete ONE THIRD of the original levels.
SQUATTER 25 Points Beat the Star Move for 10 GapWorld levels created by other players.
TWINKLE 25 Points Beat the Star Move for ONE THIRD of the original levels.
VAGRANT 25 Points Win 10 GapWorld levels created by other players.
CLUSTER 50 Points Beat the Star Move for TWO THIRDS of the original levels.
CONQUERER 50 Points Beat the Star Move for 20 GapWorld levels created by other players.
RED SCARE 50 Points Complete TWO THIRDS of the original levels.
VACATIONER 50 Points Win 20 GapWorld levels created by other players.
CLOSURE 100 Points Complete ALL of the original levels.
GALAXY 100 Points Beat the Star Move for ALL of the original levels.
VOYAGER 100 Points Win 30 GapWorld levels created by other players.
WORLD DOMINION 100 Points Beat the Star Move for 30 GapWorld levels created by other players.
WHAT Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

WARNING:
Google Chrome has a built-in Flash Player, and ever since the new update causes a sound glitch to happen. Before the update, it never occurred, yet it's the SAME file. Honest. Newgrounds has also noted other problems with the new Chrome update regarding Flash: http://www.newgrounds.com /bbs/topic/1265535
So... you might want to use a different browser until Google fixes this, unless they're too busy figuring out what the hell to do with G+ now.

EDIT: Issue seems to be fixed now. I did nothing.

=====

BEST of GAPWORLD Blog: (remove spaces in URL)
http://gapmonsters.tumblr .com

Gap Monsters on KONGREGATE: (remove spaces in URL)
http://www.kongregate.com /games/nutcasenightmare/g ap-monsters

Gap Monsters on ARMORGAMES: (remove spaces in URL)
http://armorgames.com/pla y/12184/gap-monsters

=====

NOTE: You must be logged in on Newgrounds to submit your own levels. Everything else will still work fine.

EDIT: Over 300 GapWorld levels! You sadists.
EDIT: Over 800 GapWorld levels! You monsters.
EDIT: Over 1,000 GapWorld levels! You humans.

=====

Mind-bending, Space-rending, and Completely Innocent Creature's Life-ending.

In this negative-space puzzle game, you'll drag around holes, fall through walls, and bring myriads of miniature Monsters to madness.

Say you sadistically hunger for more levels, or you just detest the levels I've made. That's fine, you can play negative-space puzzles created by other Newgroundians! And you too, can make your own.

Use the Level Creator to design your very own puzzles, and share them with a cold uncaring world. More Monsters to torture, for the good of everyone else!

Think outside the box, fellow monsters.

Reviews


YourBuddyBillYourBuddyBill

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 14, 2011

A good puzzle game...

...but a little bit too sadistic, which is why it's 9/10.



TrollolicTrollolic

Rated 4 / 5 stars September 28, 2012

This is insanely addictive, and really creative! It's a wonderful little strategy game. I nearly choked on laughter at the screaming the little monster makes when you enter the tile... Oh my gosh. That was hilarious. xD Well done~!



bhu2bhu2

Rated 4 / 5 stars August 10, 2011

Pretty good puzzle game.

I'd like to commend you on the nice design and easily-grasped gameplay. The idea was well-implemented, the music was rather catchy, and the game overall was quite a scream (or two, or fifty...).

Speaking of screaming, I'd like to point out that the refreshing the game once every second has caused the sound effects from the ending of the main game to repeat ad infinitum, which is annoying for those of us who have finished or *just* finished the main game, and slows down our computers significantly after some time. Turning off the music or sound effects does not help. If you could please find another way to make the levels show up, like making a refresh button in-game or something, that would be great.

Overall, I give this game an 8 out of 10. It's one of the best indie puzzle games I've played in a long time.

P.S. I'm quite honored that you placed my "Spiral Energy" level on the blog.


People find this review helpful!

insaneenoughinsaneenough

Rated 4 / 5 stars November 4, 2012

This game follows the "deceptively simple" formula of many puzzle games, with challenging rooms and mixed with a special tinge of dark humor, it reminds me of Portal for some reason. Regardless, good game for those reasons.



milchreismilchreis

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 27, 2011

great

What a great puzzle game and a new aproach on the black/white 2 worlds in one type of game.

When I went into the menu, the sound got fucked up and I was trapped in a hackly loop of a scream sound (probably because I switched to the menu before that scream sound finished).
That was no good, I felt like one of the monsters ;)

The other flaw was that there was nothing new in the levels I played.
I only played the first third of all levels, so i can't tell if it is true for the others as well, but I somehow expected some sort of new element to give the game a new twist.
Like special blocks, some good guy on the grid who should not be killed, ...
This is of course a minor thing.

overall: good job.


People find this review helpful!
Nutcasenightmare responds:

Ouch, you might have somehow played the movie before it fully loaded.
The Newgrounds ad-box sometimes displays a Play button for reasons beyond my control.
( I didn't make the NG ad-box )

I do believe the Ruby blocks and Corpse Monsters should prove to be quite the tweeest, which make up the other two-thirds of the game.

Overall: Thanks!