Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 25, 2011 | 9:19 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature July 27, 2011
  • Weekly 4th Place July 26, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

YOU GOTTA SHARE 5 Points Share this mind-bending space-rending life-ending game with your enemies.
BLACK AND WHITE 25 Points Complete ONE THIRD of the original levels.
SQUATTER 25 Points Beat the Star Move for 10 GapWorld levels created by other players.
TWINKLE 25 Points Beat the Star Move for ONE THIRD of the original levels.
VAGRANT 25 Points Win 10 GapWorld levels created by other players.
CLUSTER 50 Points Beat the Star Move for TWO THIRDS of the original levels.
CONQUERER 50 Points Beat the Star Move for 20 GapWorld levels created by other players.
RED SCARE 50 Points Complete TWO THIRDS of the original levels.
VACATIONER 50 Points Win 20 GapWorld levels created by other players.
CLOSURE 100 Points Complete ALL of the original levels.
GALAXY 100 Points Beat the Star Move for ALL of the original levels.
VOYAGER 100 Points Win 30 GapWorld levels created by other players.
WORLD DOMINION 100 Points Beat the Star Move for 30 GapWorld levels created by other players.
WHAT Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

WARNING:
Google Chrome has a built-in Flash Player, and ever since the new update causes a sound glitch to happen. Before the update, it never occurred, yet it's the SAME file. Honest. Newgrounds has also noted other problems with the new Chrome update regarding Flash: http://www.newgrounds.com /bbs/topic/1265535
So... you might want to use a different browser until Google fixes this, unless they're too busy figuring out what the hell to do with G+ now.

EDIT: Issue seems to be fixed now. I did nothing.

=====

BEST of GAPWORLD Blog: (remove spaces in URL)
http://gapmonsters.tumblr .com

Gap Monsters on KONGREGATE: (remove spaces in URL)
http://www.kongregate.com /games/nutcasenightmare/g ap-monsters

Gap Monsters on ARMORGAMES: (remove spaces in URL)
http://armorgames.com/pla y/12184/gap-monsters

=====

NOTE: You must be logged in on Newgrounds to submit your own levels. Everything else will still work fine.

EDIT: Over 300 GapWorld levels! You sadists.
EDIT: Over 800 GapWorld levels! You monsters.
EDIT: Over 1,000 GapWorld levels! You humans.

=====

Mind-bending, Space-rending, and Completely Innocent Creature's Life-ending.

In this negative-space puzzle game, you'll drag around holes, fall through walls, and bring myriads of miniature Monsters to madness.

Say you sadistically hunger for more levels, or you just detest the levels I've made. That's fine, you can play negative-space puzzles created by other Newgroundians! And you too, can make your own.

Use the Level Creator to design your very own puzzles, and share them with a cold uncaring world. More Monsters to torture, for the good of everyone else!

Think outside the box, fellow monsters.

Reviews


JonSaskawanJonSaskawan

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 27, 2011

dude

i don't think i've ever played a puzzle game like this before. in fact, i think this may be a totally original concept. good job. fun, and the user levels makes it even better.


People find this review helpful!
Nutcasenightmare responds:

My 'originality' runs out in my responses to reviews.
That said
Thanks for the review!


jayasaurasjayasauras

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 13, 2011

great game, but wtf

to ryoku1221, I definitely heard the sound glitch, and it's annoying as hell. Nutcasenightmare, you should fix this immediately.

On the other hand, the game was great. The gameplay was interesting and innovative. Moving the monster by pushing and pulling the titles can be a little awkward at first, but with practice, you'll get used to it. Also, the animation and sound effects of the monsters really gives the game a fun vibe, and it makes the monsters memorable by adding personality.

Awesome work man


People find this review helpful!

dreamsfandreamsfan

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 3, 2011

simple idea, great execution

Like katamari and Portal, if you take a general idea and tweak the game to use it creatively as possible, you've got something good here. I played it all the way to the end. I think the gapmonsters need a puzzleboss to stand up for them.


People find this review helpful!
Nutcasenightmare responds:

Braid and Portal were huge influences on the game, from their in-depth exploration of one core mechanic, to the murdering of cute innocent little things.

Thanks for the review!


Pikachu123Pikachu123

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 22, 2012

script for gap monsters:raa rooh ree (sings like girl) (trills)


People find this review helpful!

kirstkittenkirstkitten

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 18, 2011

Great

This is a great and really fun game but perhaps something could be added to mix it up a little at the end.


People find this review helpful!