Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 25, 2011 | 9:19 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature July 27, 2011
  • Weekly 4th Place July 26, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

YOU GOTTA SHARE 5 Points Share this mind-bending space-rending life-ending game with your enemies.
BLACK AND WHITE 25 Points Complete ONE THIRD of the original levels.
SQUATTER 25 Points Beat the Star Move for 10 GapWorld levels created by other players.
TWINKLE 25 Points Beat the Star Move for ONE THIRD of the original levels.
VAGRANT 25 Points Win 10 GapWorld levels created by other players.
CLUSTER 50 Points Beat the Star Move for TWO THIRDS of the original levels.
CONQUERER 50 Points Beat the Star Move for 20 GapWorld levels created by other players.
RED SCARE 50 Points Complete TWO THIRDS of the original levels.
VACATIONER 50 Points Win 20 GapWorld levels created by other players.
CLOSURE 100 Points Complete ALL of the original levels.
GALAXY 100 Points Beat the Star Move for ALL of the original levels.
VOYAGER 100 Points Win 30 GapWorld levels created by other players.
WORLD DOMINION 100 Points Beat the Star Move for 30 GapWorld levels created by other players.
WHAT Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

WARNING:
Google Chrome has a built-in Flash Player, and ever since the new update causes a sound glitch to happen. Before the update, it never occurred, yet it's the SAME file. Honest. Newgrounds has also noted other problems with the new Chrome update regarding Flash: http://www.newgrounds.com /bbs/topic/1265535
So... you might want to use a different browser until Google fixes this, unless they're too busy figuring out what the hell to do with G+ now.

EDIT: Issue seems to be fixed now. I did nothing.

=====

BEST of GAPWORLD Blog: (remove spaces in URL)
http://gapmonsters.tumblr .com

Gap Monsters on KONGREGATE: (remove spaces in URL)
http://www.kongregate.com /games/nutcasenightmare/g ap-monsters

Gap Monsters on ARMORGAMES: (remove spaces in URL)
http://armorgames.com/pla y/12184/gap-monsters

=====

NOTE: You must be logged in on Newgrounds to submit your own levels. Everything else will still work fine.

EDIT: Over 300 GapWorld levels! You sadists.
EDIT: Over 800 GapWorld levels! You monsters.
EDIT: Over 1,000 GapWorld levels! You humans.

=====

Mind-bending, Space-rending, and Completely Innocent Creature's Life-ending.

In this negative-space puzzle game, you'll drag around holes, fall through walls, and bring myriads of miniature Monsters to madness.

Say you sadistically hunger for more levels, or you just detest the levels I've made. That's fine, you can play negative-space puzzles created by other Newgroundians! And you too, can make your own.

Use the Level Creator to design your very own puzzles, and share them with a cold uncaring world. More Monsters to torture, for the good of everyone else!

Think outside the box, fellow monsters.

Reviews


haxelhaxel

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 27, 2011

...

mmmmmmmmmm



ChechongChechong

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 27, 2011

yay/////

awesome



TheRootTheRoot

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 27, 2011

10+

what an awesome game! i really love it. and there are some quite difficult user-levels as well. nice humor! nice conceprt! there are quite many 1monster - 1block leverls. sorry, i couldn't resist as well


People find this review helpful!

dpbfdpbf

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 27, 2011

Funny and brain-teasing

The idea of saying "AAAA" is very funny! I love it.
The graphics is simpleton but suitable for puzzle game.

And hell yeah! Medals are the the sweetest thing on newgrounds.
Great job! Nutcasenightmare!


People find this review helpful!
Nutcasenightmare responds:

A tonne of simplicity is not a simpleton, but thanks anyway for your encouragement!
Play on, fellow monster.


CoopCoop

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 27, 2011

Very enjoyable

Well, this is a well constructed little game. Granted, with user intervention and not just the "I want 30 levels which require no thought, because I want my medals" user generated content, this could become a very big game.

From the user levels, I would hope two things. Firstly, that the levels are moderated and the really shitty one creature already in the box, so you win as soon as it's loaded levels get pruned out. Second, that there is some sort of "players pack" of the best levels launched, perhaps incorporating some sort of plot into the proceedings, where there is a Doctor Robotnik style character, that enjoys making little animals suffer and you're totally helpless.

Of course, it could be that a second version of the game would involve choice, making your progress entirely down to the discretion of the player. You could kill the creatures (easy) or save them (harder) on each level. Are you a corporate slave, or a hippie? Who knows, you might just be a corporate slave, but in that camp, because it's an easy life and you can play solitaire, while you should be working.

On the user generated content, you should be able to pick the sounds you creatures make when they die. There was one level I saw with a tune to it that would really benefit from this sort of thing, of course, that's abstract and a little sadistic, so I'll leave that thought hanging.

[Review Request Club]


People find this review helpful!
Nutcasenightmare responds:

My hope was that people who DO want a challenge from GapWorld,
Will click the Challenge tab, to get the most challenging levels as voted by players.

My hope was that the medals would help encourage an intrinsic motivation to solve puzzles.
I only award Medals for playing levels you did not submit to GapWorld, so people don't create 1Block1Monster levels for Medals. So the people who did create such levels, did it because they really wanted to, for some reason?

My hope
My hope

Alas, "Hope goes 'crunch' when squished."