Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 25, 2011 | 9:19 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature July 27, 2011
  • Weekly 4th Place July 26, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

YOU GOTTA SHARE 5 Points Share this mind-bending space-rending life-ending game with your enemies.
BLACK AND WHITE 25 Points Complete ONE THIRD of the original levels.
SQUATTER 25 Points Beat the Star Move for 10 GapWorld levels created by other players.
TWINKLE 25 Points Beat the Star Move for ONE THIRD of the original levels.
VAGRANT 25 Points Win 10 GapWorld levels created by other players.
CLUSTER 50 Points Beat the Star Move for TWO THIRDS of the original levels.
CONQUERER 50 Points Beat the Star Move for 20 GapWorld levels created by other players.
RED SCARE 50 Points Complete TWO THIRDS of the original levels.
VACATIONER 50 Points Win 20 GapWorld levels created by other players.
CLOSURE 100 Points Complete ALL of the original levels.
GALAXY 100 Points Beat the Star Move for ALL of the original levels.
VOYAGER 100 Points Win 30 GapWorld levels created by other players.
WORLD DOMINION 100 Points Beat the Star Move for 30 GapWorld levels created by other players.
WHAT Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

WARNING:
Google Chrome has a built-in Flash Player, and ever since the new update causes a sound glitch to happen. Before the update, it never occurred, yet it's the SAME file. Honest. Newgrounds has also noted other problems with the new Chrome update regarding Flash: http://www.newgrounds.com /bbs/topic/1265535
So... you might want to use a different browser until Google fixes this, unless they're too busy figuring out what the hell to do with G+ now.

EDIT: Issue seems to be fixed now. I did nothing.

=====

BEST of GAPWORLD Blog: (remove spaces in URL)
http://gapmonsters.tumblr .com

Gap Monsters on KONGREGATE: (remove spaces in URL)
http://www.kongregate.com /games/nutcasenightmare/g ap-monsters

Gap Monsters on ARMORGAMES: (remove spaces in URL)
http://armorgames.com/pla y/12184/gap-monsters

=====

NOTE: You must be logged in on Newgrounds to submit your own levels. Everything else will still work fine.

EDIT: Over 300 GapWorld levels! You sadists.
EDIT: Over 800 GapWorld levels! You monsters.
EDIT: Over 1,000 GapWorld levels! You humans.

=====

Mind-bending, Space-rending, and Completely Innocent Creature's Life-ending.

In this negative-space puzzle game, you'll drag around holes, fall through walls, and bring myriads of miniature Monsters to madness.

Say you sadistically hunger for more levels, or you just detest the levels I've made. That's fine, you can play negative-space puzzles created by other Newgroundians! And you too, can make your own.

Use the Level Creator to design your very own puzzles, and share them with a cold uncaring world. More Monsters to torture, for the good of everyone else!

Think outside the box, fellow monsters.

Reviews


joshua30647joshua30647

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 27, 2011

lol!

When you get to the finish they scream lol!


Nutcasenightmare responds:

Indeed they do.


AmberDragonAmberDragon

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 27, 2011

poopfaec

I would have given this a ten, but I was disappointed that throughout the game almost no knew game mechanics were introduced. There was the dead Monster but there was only one level where it actually related to the puzzle. As for the game length I think it was perfect. (though I did use a walkthrough for the last level)


People find this review helpful!
Nutcasenightmare responds:

There were the Rubies and the Corpse Monsters, as an extension of the main game mechanics,
but I also wanted to focus on exploring simple mechanics in depth,
rather than introducing a bunch of disconnected mechanics superficially.

Thanks for the review!


AmazingAdam4AmazingAdam4

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 27, 2011

Cargo bridge?

I dunno if this has already been mentioned but aren't the monster's screams the screaming from the game Cargo Bridge? Anyway, this is such a clever game, good job!


People find this review helpful!
Nutcasenightmare responds:

The screams are freely available Creative Commons licensed sounds, found on FreeSound.org. (Which I credit in Special Thanks)

So, it's possible another game used the same screams of unfathomable pain.

Thanks for the review! Play on, fellow monster.


JeffersonTDJeffersonTD

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 27, 2011

Nice, simple concept with a lot of potential!

It's a nice, different concept: a rather simple basic idea, yet something that requires a bit of getting used to, and on the other hand has the potential of offering real mind-twisters. It's especially fun in a way when you have the pixels represent some well-known characters and in order to pass the map, you'll have to mess its/his/her appearance.

ps. This is the first NG game where I see user levels like that. So how do you add your level to newgrounds? What am I missing? All I saw in the editor was the export and import buttons.


People find this review helpful!
Nutcasenightmare responds:

Thanks!
Also
To submit a level, you first have to play and beat your own level, to prove that it has a solution.


1Kamakazy1Kamakazy

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 27, 2011

Perfect

this game is amazing keep up the good work.
and LMAO --->Author's Response:
1) Get a dozen other people to play Gap Monsters
2) Collect their leaking brain juices
3) Drink it all up, including yours.
You know have twelve times the brain-power!
4) Finish Gap Monsters
5) Burn down the world


People find this review helpful!
Nutcasenightmare responds:

Now I'm given the challenge
Of responding to one of my responses
And I give up.