Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 17, 2011 | 5:34 PM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place July 18, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Cremation 5 Points Obliterate the first boss with all weapon slots equipped
Rookie 5 Points Finish the first area
AHK-372 10 Points Defeat the second boss
Damura 10 Points Defeat the first boss
Frequent Flyer 10 Points Fly 3,000 miles
Junkyard 10 Points Kill 4,000 enemies
Problem, Minecraft? 10 Points Collect 2,000 gems (spending them is allowed)
Variety 10 Points Use each weapon in the game at least once
Coeus 25 Points Defeat the fourth boss
Ding Ding 25 Points Reach level 20
Erebos 25 Points Defeat the third boss
Hardcore 25 Points Finish area 4 of AHK-372 with only a bullet rifle
Stealthy 25 Points Finish area 3 of Coeus without triggering any sentry lights
Untouchable 25 Points Finish area 4 of Erebos without taking any damage
Swain's Medal Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Event Horizon Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Classic top-down shooter with stat building and parts customization!
Multiple planets to see, weapons to collect, and big bosses to fight.
High scores and Medals available!

In the works since July 2010, the top-down shooter genre has been something I've always wanted to cover. Big thanks to Hyptosis and Kelwyshade for their art and music, otherwise I'd still be stuck with an unpolished engine. I think we ended up with a solid product, hope you enjoy!

Reviews


DANBRAIDENDANBRAIDEN

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars July 20, 2011

Lame

annoying sounds , and same old game play , slightly intresting graphics



UberPariahUberPariah

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars July 23, 2011

HRMM...

make the main ship smaller, faster, and include the use of a mouse control as well. with the use of WADS, you can't get any kind of diagonal movement that this game needs.


People find this review helpful!

dabacondabacon

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars July 20, 2011

well

its boring.. i tried to play it as long as i can take but its so boring there are only few choice of weaps and stuff and enemies are the same.. i would not waste a lot of time just to see something new then to repeat it again and again..

i won't mind playing a game that takes a lot of time but doing it again and again w/out fun and excitement is.. just.. *yawn.,



BannanaSharkBannanaShark

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars July 20, 2011

"Meh."

It's not very fresh, it's kinda old and busted.May i consider something that isn't used as often or some more upgrades otherwise i do not think it will do very well.


People find this review helpful!

Neophyte-RoninNeophyte-Ronin

Rated 1 / 5 stars July 28, 2011

Murderously Difficult

"SHMUP" is polished to a fault in the sense that this belongs in an actual coin-op with its "Shop" element retooled so that you can only pick a single new setup for the next mission. Yes, that way it will go down in history alongside "Haunted Castle" as virtually UNPLAYABLE.

This is another stupid one-ship-against-armada stories that fail to incorporate any true sentiment of wartime realism. Thus, the plot and story are worthless.

Now, anybody will tell you a shooter game is often the epicenter of graphic detail. True to form, Hyptosis and Afro-Ninja took great pains to ensure that this game looks good and doesn't handle like a kangaroo with a brain disease. Josh Kemp's techno-driven soundtrack is passable but forgettable. A good deal of technical prowess went into creating this game. Those are the only good sides, because when it comes to challenge, pacing and overall fairness, "SHMUP" is just another token hog.

Okay, so you have to go around shooting everything and collecting these gems to exchange them for improved engines, weaponry, and ray shielding, which sucks because every new area has a shop that replaces every last customization you made in the previous area. Let's not forget that Leveling Up corresponds to only marginal improvements in your stats. Finally, the bosses are vindictive, emotional, and almost pornographically horrifying. Then you learn that the one weapon you shrugged at in the shop turns out to be a veritable panacea against the relentless hordes that NEVER DIE FAST ENOUGH, but if that's not all, your head is spinning from all the frustration that you wonder why in the name of Christ did you ever begin to play this game? The awards and achievements?

Afro-Ninja wanted to cover the top-down shooter genre, but seriously, he should have left this one alone. A pretty bunch of space debris isn't worth looking at if the debris is and always will be your fucking ship.


People find this review helpful!