Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 17, 2011 | 5:34 PM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place July 18, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Cremation 5 Points Obliterate the first boss with all weapon slots equipped
Rookie 5 Points Finish the first area
AHK-372 10 Points Defeat the second boss
Damura 10 Points Defeat the first boss
Frequent Flyer 10 Points Fly 3,000 miles
Junkyard 10 Points Kill 4,000 enemies
Problem, Minecraft? 10 Points Collect 2,000 gems (spending them is allowed)
Variety 10 Points Use each weapon in the game at least once
Coeus 25 Points Defeat the fourth boss
Ding Ding 25 Points Reach level 20
Erebos 25 Points Defeat the third boss
Hardcore 25 Points Finish area 4 of AHK-372 with only a bullet rifle
Stealthy 25 Points Finish area 3 of Coeus without triggering any sentry lights
Untouchable 25 Points Finish area 4 of Erebos without taking any damage
Swain's Medal Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Event Horizon Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Classic top-down shooter with stat building and parts customization!
Multiple planets to see, weapons to collect, and big bosses to fight.
High scores and Medals available!

In the works since July 2010, the top-down shooter genre has been something I've always wanted to cover. Big thanks to Hyptosis and Kelwyshade for their art and music, otherwise I'd still be stuck with an unpolished engine. I think we ended up with a solid product, hope you enjoy!

Reviews


RaabRaab

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 19, 2011

Nice Work!

I love the finished project!

Audio and visuals were spectacular.

Gameplay was amazing.

Overall a 10/10

Best thing I could ask for in a top-scrolling shooter.



FalgorFalgor

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 19, 2011

I can't sleep thanks to you

This game is very addictive, i liked a lot the lvl system, it gives another play experience, the levels look cool, the ship is too big for the screen.



Azh321Azh321

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 19, 2011

I love this game!

I love this game, I have played it for a few hours at a time, sporadically since you released it 2 days ago. But because I like the game THAT much and have invested this much time into, I have some critiques of this great game...

The start of the game is slow going. I mean that in the sense of upgrades and rewards. I got gems so sparingly in the first world and the first set of weapons didnt look like much of an upgrade, so I didnt upgrade my weapon at all in the first world. And parts other than weapons are nothing more than statistical improvements, they dont change the gameplay at all.

My second complaint is the lack of variety in weapons and upgrades. Weapons are the only things that change gameplay and add a small layer of strategy to the game. Your choice of increased attack or defense is a little more, but not enough. How about more specialized weapons? The pulse cannon is very interesting. This leaves a lot more room for improvement though. Add more to the strategy aspect. How about upgrades that do more than just stats? How about upgrades that increase one stat but sacrifice another? How about giving up that +8% increased attack for 1% life steal (notice I didnt say HP regen since that could be abused by leaving 1 mob on the screen). How about a slot that could be used as a shield or a weapon or boosters, or something of my choosing rather than being set on one thing?

My third complaint, which I expected... A lot of the weapons are useless compared to certain weapons, when used in the "right" way, are a complete gimmick. After I got pulse cannons and homing missles, I never used anything else. I either had 4 pulses on or 4 homing missles, depending on the type of level. This is very gimmicky and I feel forced into doing this because the other weapons suck and the difficulty of the 3rd and 4th worlds jumped so much.

Finally... how about something DIFFERENT. This is very vague. Yes. More than just holding down a key, moving around, and memorizing patterns. I see two very good options for this: Talent Tree and Skills. You could make these very detailed or not at all. You could have 2 or 3 skills (such as bombs, temporary shield, and a shock wave) and you could have a basic stats-only talent tree. Or you could go much more detailed than that, but I think the simple choices would be enough for this game and would add a needed freshness to the game.

In conclusion, the game is GREAT. But after playing it 8+ hours, I have some things that could make it even better. This is a very impresive game though, I cant wait to see a sequel and more games from you! In my opinion as a game developer, the best compliment someone can give is a detailed


People find this review helpful!

PotatoscrubPotatoscrub

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 19, 2011

I've fought plenty of black holes in my time

But never has one been such a bitch to kill. I was about to give up for a while on World 3, which is refreshing. The game presented a fun challenge almost throughout and I felt driven to play more right until the end. That said, there were one or two things that bothered me about the game.

Firstly, the challenge really felt like it declined in the last world. The invasion was surprisingly easy to push back with the piercing rifle. I tried it again with a different weapon, and the difficulty spike was remarkable. I feel that the game would have been more challenging at the end had the piercing rifle been nerfed.

That, however, leads me to the second problem: a lack of diversity in the shop. The levels were fine on this front, and the bosses were all very different and fun, but the shop items (barring one or two notable exceptions) were all practically identical and played the same way as one another. The guns all shot straight, the engines provided flat speed boosts, the shields had fixed health, and the mods all added to one of the three (or all three) stats. I think diversity adds a great deal of replayability and makes the game feel more organic. Some examples I can think of on how to improve diversity would be shields that can only take one hit but regenerate after a couple seconds, slow engines that provide a rechargable boost, mods that add to xp gain/money drops, and more guns that don't shoot straight. A melee weapon that adds to shields might also work, but seeing as you have a multi-slot system, that might not work here. (the currently only melee weapon was really only useful for destroying missiles and mines for me, which was unfortunate).

It felt to me that, with the low-priority level system (I played for a couple hours and got about a 30% increase to shields), the low weapon diversity, and the retro sound effects, you were trying to modernize old arcade shooters. If that was your goal, I think it worked in most respects, but outside of the (well designed) boss battles, it felt more old than new. It was a solid game, without a doubt, but I feel like it ultimately needs more invention to set it aside from the hundreds of other games in this genre.

Still, I wouldn't dare give such an impressively difficult (and fun) game any less than the 10 it deserves.


People find this review helpful!

Dragoon-X20Dragoon-X20

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 19, 2011

attack of the mutant space bats reborn

great game highly addictive and i like the leveling system, it gos at a nice pace and it gives enough challenge to make you want more.