Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 17, 2011 | 5:34 PM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place July 18, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Cremation 5 Points Obliterate the first boss with all weapon slots equipped
Rookie 5 Points Finish the first area
AHK-372 10 Points Defeat the second boss
Damura 10 Points Defeat the first boss
Frequent Flyer 10 Points Fly 3,000 miles
Junkyard 10 Points Kill 4,000 enemies
Problem, Minecraft? 10 Points Collect 2,000 gems (spending them is allowed)
Variety 10 Points Use each weapon in the game at least once
Coeus 25 Points Defeat the fourth boss
Ding Ding 25 Points Reach level 20
Erebos 25 Points Defeat the third boss
Hardcore 25 Points Finish area 4 of AHK-372 with only a bullet rifle
Stealthy 25 Points Finish area 3 of Coeus without triggering any sentry lights
Untouchable 25 Points Finish area 4 of Erebos without taking any damage
Swain's Medal Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Event Horizon Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Classic top-down shooter with stat building and parts customization!
Multiple planets to see, weapons to collect, and big bosses to fight.
High scores and Medals available!

In the works since July 2010, the top-down shooter genre has been something I've always wanted to cover. Big thanks to Hyptosis and Kelwyshade for their art and music, otherwise I'd still be stuck with an unpolished engine. I think we ended up with a solid product, hope you enjoy!

Reviews


Plume-of-DarknessPlume-of-Darkness

Rated 3 / 5 stars July 29, 2011

Alright game.

Nice game overall; the difficulty is somewhat inconsistent, being fairly easy first then spiking up when you hit Erebus for the first time, the back down before spiking again at the Black Hole. Fortunately, with weapons such as Relentless Riffle and Pulse Cannon, one can manage.

I liked how you can choose the direction of your weapons; it adds a depth to your strategy. However, ultimately it is not a make or break feature, as a full-forward barrage is enough to get you through the game. Sure works wonders on the Pulse Cannon though!

...I hated how the system only saved the Rookie medal on me, even though I got all save Untouchable and one secret one...

The final boss was pretty interesting. How often do you get to fight a black hole, complete with interface screw?

Also, to everyone complaining about the game being hard: as far as SHMUPs go, this game is pretty easy. Believe or not. There are games FAR harder than this one, with the difficulty being perfectly consistent. What makes this annoying for some SHMUP fans is the fact that your ship's fairly slow, not to mention that your hitbox is way too big. Perhaps a feature to slow down movement and concentrate fire (like in Touhou, which also shows you your hitbox) or changes the weapon's bullets (as in Caslte of Shikigami) would help... No, it WOULD help a lot!

Also, the game lacked musical variety. There's nothing like listening to an upbeat/energetic/stimulating song while cruising through bullets and kicking everyone's ass along the way. This game lacked that, which reduced entertainment and replay value.

Lastly: I HATE the Hardcore medal. That is all.


People find this review helpful!

sid914sid914

Rated 1 / 5 stars July 29, 2011

It reminded me of Tyriann

But then I realized how sluggish the movement is. I figured I'd replay a level maybe once or twice and upgrade my speed, but indeed, you lower the exp one gets, so in order to even beat level 4 I would imagine you'd have to be at least level 7. Which playing the same level over and over and...well I think you get the point. Also one upgrade for each module on one world. Lame. What's the point of wasting the time and buying the upgrade. Shouldn't they with each level just upgrade by itself(besides the different weapons)? I would think so. It's just a waste of time, because your "stats" increase with each level, why not the equipment if you're only going to have one part upgrade for each module? Great idea, horrible execution. A few tweaks with the level and xp system and I would ignore the fact that i have to upgrade everything myself. The number one mistake you made was INCREASING the xp it took to level up. Normally this is the right thing to do, but the fact that you DECREASED the amount of xp you get for killing on previous levels as well, just makes this a time consuming game. Repeating the same level over and over is tolerable, as long as it reaps rewards. I don't want to play the first levels more than 5 times just to get enough shield power to pass lvl 4. Fix the xp and leveling and you'd have one hell of a game.



googdude42googdude42

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars July 29, 2011

Not great.

It was... Ok
it was an arcade shooter but really unfinished, (in my opinion) the ships were giant and bullets flew everywhere so half of the time you flew around the screen collecting gems in a swarm of bullets, it felt like I was trying to find a needle in a haystack filled with land mines.

Also, you lost brownie points because I didn't see a mute button.


People find this review helpful!

CacheHelperCacheHelper

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars July 29, 2011

It's ok

Not very good.

If you want me to avoid bullets I need a smaller ship, with a smaller hit box... if you want me to fight, then there needs to be more enemies, that take less hits. Right now you have a game with giant ships and few enemies but lots of quick moving bullets. So I slugishly float around the screen trying to dodge tiny pink dots that move faster then I can ever dream of moving while being forced to shoot giant screen blocking enemies a hundred times in a row with six different weapons. It's too much. The game is difficult, but for the wrong reasons...

You need to focus your game on one main point. Is it about killing things before they kill you, or is it about avoiding bullets until you reach the end of the stage? Trying to do both just makes a difficult, clunky, unpolished game.

Also, why am I punished for replaying levels? Why lower the exp? Shouldn't you want people to come back and replay levels over and over and over again? Why discourage this? That's stupid. Instead, you should encourage it by giving out not only exp, but challenge awards. Like, beating each stage without getting hit or killing all of the enemies. You should never, ever, discourage a player from replaying your game.


People find this review helpful!

ZenqsZenqs

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 29, 2011

Just one word... HELL!

This game is A.W.E.S.O.M.E. I've probably spent 4 hours already, the action in this game is remarkable, although is like the classic plane shooters this game gives me a feeling I can't describe.
Heh, I have a PS joystick and didn't needed to donwload that file to use it :P I simply configured it and I was all set :D
There are a few things I found annoying though... Sometimes the enemies were just FUCKING hard ): and also when you get killed for example, I noticed the exp enemies yield also decrease D: Meaning even less leveling for you Dx That can be avoided by the player doing the following.
1: Feel the level, how's that? Well you play the level and when you first get in you dont know what to expect, so I highly recomend that while you play it, if your armor is dangerously low then pause and exit, that way you won't get exp and gems, yeah, although enemies exp yielding WON'T DECREASE :D
2: Once you know what to expect in the level edit your ship to counter the enemies attacks, I didn't knew this until recently but you can actually rotate the weapons turrets, which is really helpfull in some levels.
3: If you're not sure if your new strategy will work just test, if you're confortable enough with it, then stick with it, otherwise just do the pause and escape thingy you can still collect exp and gems after you master your strategy.
I'm thinking on staring over, why? Cause I didn't knew this when I played it :3
...
@rebellious-boy, there are a few things you can do in order to improve the game speed: 1) lower the quality of the graphics, 2) download the needed plug-ins, 3) Maybe is your internet browser, try having more than 1 installed in your comp, I use firefox and are satisfied with its performance. 4) If the past tips doesn't work, then I suggest either upgrade your comp's RAM memory capacity and video card OR buy a new computer.
Keep in mind flash games will improve as new and faster computers appear, which means, the oldest your computer the crappier your flash gamming experience will be with new games.
Now having said this imma gonna have some breakfast