Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 9, 2011 | 12:01 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature July 10, 2011
  • Weekly 2nd Place July 12, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

"Waltz of the Forest"
Performed by Final Boss
Vocals by Kirbopher
Rapping by ShadyVox
Opera by MusicalMike
Arrangement by Psyguy

"Rawest Forest" by Martin Hagwell
"Geno's Forest" by XBrav
"Beware the Forest Mushrooms" by Yoko Shimomura

Back in 2007, the last Flash animation I did as I was graduating High School and entering College was a music video based on "Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars" for the Super Nintendo, a game that I have over a decade of history with. Yoko Shimomura's music is a huge part of what's so amazing about this game, "Beware the Forest Mushrooms" (theme of the "Forest Maze" stage) being one of her most highly regarded compositions. DJ XBrav created a lyrical version of the song that took the internet by storm many years ago, evolving into a meme that fans of the game all know and love. Martin Hagwell later remixed this into the popular "Rawest Forest" song, which I later used as the song for the music video that has now received millions of views in the past several years.

Today, as the last Flash animation I'm doing as I graduate College and enter into the rest of my life: Myself, Blake "ShadyVox" Swift, Bryon "Psyguy" Beaubien and Musical Mike Patterson, have joined forces to bring you a new version of the popular Forest Maze composition from Super Mario RPG, paying tribute to both XBrav's and Marta's remixes as well as Yoko Shimomura's original piece. This animation was done over the course of two weeks, as opposed to the original music video that was finished in one week. I crammed in as many geeky references in there as I possibly could to show my appreciation for this amazing game and I hope everyone who's ever played Super Mario RPG will get a big smile in remembering all the fun stuff from Mario and company's adventures. Big thanks as well to my creative partners that helped in making this song and everyone who supported me during the animation process.

Follow Geno's route there!

Reviews


cooldude133cooldude133

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 10, 2011

awsome

cool



DukeOfSticksDukeOfSticks

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 10, 2011

awesome.............

there is no other word to describe it.................. but EPIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!



JordiTheShortyJordiTheShorty

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 19, 2013

wow dude amazing reminds me when i played the thousand year door but games are easier now i wish i were in your days when games were near to imposible tough during the time i played the thousand year door i did find it tough



supergoronsupergoron

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 17, 2011

Professionally well done and an improvement....

Not that that the original song and animation weren't great, but the original strong had some strange lyrics (geno rap mostly) and while the animation was good it didn't feel as distinguished as this one. The original felt like you were just for some laughs and this one felt like you were doing it because this game just deserved something spectacular.


People find this review helpful!

BitBit

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 9, 2011

Good

The graphics are fairly good. All of the main characters are well animated in the places they appear. Everything follows the Mario theme, but is unique enough to differentiate between it. A bit more work could have been put into animating certain areas of the animation such as backgrounds and lesser characters. More details could have improved it.

The audio is good. All of the voice acting was terrific. The rhythm of the music matched the singing and animation. The animation kept up with the audio which meant the animation was fairly past-paced, but it was not too fast as to lose the viewer.


People find this review helpful!