Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 9, 2011 | 12:01 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature July 10, 2011
  • Weekly 2nd Place July 12, 2011

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

"Waltz of the Forest"
Performed by Final Boss
Vocals by Kirbopher
Rapping by ShadyVox
Opera by MusicalMike
Arrangement by Psyguy

"Rawest Forest" by Martin Hagwell
"Geno's Forest" by XBrav
"Beware the Forest Mushrooms" by Yoko Shimomura

Back in 2007, the last Flash animation I did as I was graduating High School and entering College was a music video based on "Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars" for the Super Nintendo, a game that I have over a decade of history with. Yoko Shimomura's music is a huge part of what's so amazing about this game, "Beware the Forest Mushrooms" (theme of the "Forest Maze" stage) being one of her most highly regarded compositions. DJ XBrav created a lyrical version of the song that took the internet by storm many years ago, evolving into a meme that fans of the game all know and love. Martin Hagwell later remixed this into the popular "Rawest Forest" song, which I later used as the song for the music video that has now received millions of views in the past several years.

Today, as the last Flash animation I'm doing as I graduate College and enter into the rest of my life: Myself, Blake "ShadyVox" Swift, Bryon "Psyguy" Beaubien and Musical Mike Patterson, have joined forces to bring you a new version of the popular Forest Maze composition from Super Mario RPG, paying tribute to both XBrav's and Marta's remixes as well as Yoko Shimomura's original piece. This animation was done over the course of two weeks, as opposed to the original music video that was finished in one week. I crammed in as many geeky references in there as I possibly could to show my appreciation for this amazing game and I hope everyone who's ever played Super Mario RPG will get a big smile in remembering all the fun stuff from Mario and company's adventures. Big thanks as well to my creative partners that helped in making this song and everyone who supported me during the animation process.

Follow Geno's route there!

Reviews


GodlyProGodlyPro

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 13, 2011

It's really good I like it :)

Though I liked the first one more, but whatever theyre both really good. I am curious as to why you never mentioned or showed that Culex was in the game, he is one of the biggest secrets. (and hard as fuck to beat)



WILSONKILERWILSONKILER

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 10, 2011

eh....

not your best because its almost same as MARIO RPG:RAWEST FOREST just a few changes.....but i did like the animation :3 thats all i have to say. 8/10 4/5



NesyajNesyaj

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 23, 2011

Nice but...

It's has a nice tune but personally I would have enjoyed it more if you hadn't changed the lyrics to the Rawest Forest parts



SwagFluSwagFlu

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 12, 2011

good but could have been better

the first one had more energy it felt like this one was to supplement the last one. The rapped sections had great flow and delivery but lyrically it wasnt to appealing. The animation on this is easily the highlight.



xPurpleCloudxPurpleCloud

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 16, 2011

Enjoyable

It was good but it wasn't as good as the first Super Mario RPG in my opinion :P