Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 9, 2011 | 12:01 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature July 10, 2011
  • Weekly 2nd Place July 12, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

"Waltz of the Forest"
Performed by Final Boss
Vocals by Kirbopher
Rapping by ShadyVox
Opera by MusicalMike
Arrangement by Psyguy

"Rawest Forest" by Martin Hagwell
"Geno's Forest" by XBrav
"Beware the Forest Mushrooms" by Yoko Shimomura

Back in 2007, the last Flash animation I did as I was graduating High School and entering College was a music video based on "Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars" for the Super Nintendo, a game that I have over a decade of history with. Yoko Shimomura's music is a huge part of what's so amazing about this game, "Beware the Forest Mushrooms" (theme of the "Forest Maze" stage) being one of her most highly regarded compositions. DJ XBrav created a lyrical version of the song that took the internet by storm many years ago, evolving into a meme that fans of the game all know and love. Martin Hagwell later remixed this into the popular "Rawest Forest" song, which I later used as the song for the music video that has now received millions of views in the past several years.

Today, as the last Flash animation I'm doing as I graduate College and enter into the rest of my life: Myself, Blake "ShadyVox" Swift, Bryon "Psyguy" Beaubien and Musical Mike Patterson, have joined forces to bring you a new version of the popular Forest Maze composition from Super Mario RPG, paying tribute to both XBrav's and Marta's remixes as well as Yoko Shimomura's original piece. This animation was done over the course of two weeks, as opposed to the original music video that was finished in one week. I crammed in as many geeky references in there as I possibly could to show my appreciation for this amazing game and I hope everyone who's ever played Super Mario RPG will get a big smile in remembering all the fun stuff from Mario and company's adventures. Big thanks as well to my creative partners that helped in making this song and everyone who supported me during the animation process.

Follow Geno's route there!

Reviews


Fhajad034Fhajad034

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 9, 2011

Fantastic!

This song and animation is an excellent portrayal of how I felt when going through the Forest Maze in SMRPG each time. Truly fantastic work, Kirbopher!



MiloticMasterMiloticMaster

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 9, 2011

Pretty amazing!

Never played the game so I doubt I got even half of the references you did, however the animation sequences are awesome, the song was nicely done, and the game looks fun too. Good work.



spritefanspritefan

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 9, 2011

Wow.

This fucking brings me back...

Loved both versions you've animated. Both are unique in their own ways.

Congrats on graduating College. Best of luck in the future~



hrechkanesshrechkaness

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 9, 2011

Good But,

The first song was waaaaaaaaaay better then this one. Other then that, this animation is a great improvement from the original. The artwork is cleaner and it looks like you put a lot of effort into this. Great job, it's refreshing to see some of your work that isn't a collab mish mash, or power rangers parody. Keep up the good work!



lenkobiscuitlenkobiscuit

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 9, 2011

yes

man. i think that rawest forest thing was the first thing i ever saw by you. this is a huge leap from that in terms of looks and i loved the sneaky references to practically everything in the game (glad you remembered johnny as well). i got into the whole smrpg thing pretty late cuz it never came out in the UK, but its still really badass

great animation, i think the remade song lacks the energy and speedy tempo of the original though (and even little things like the vocal harmonies on certain words)


People find this review helpful!