Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 9, 2011 | 12:01 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature July 10, 2011
  • Weekly 2nd Place July 12, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

"Waltz of the Forest"
Performed by Final Boss
Vocals by Kirbopher
Rapping by ShadyVox
Opera by MusicalMike
Arrangement by Psyguy

"Rawest Forest" by Martin Hagwell
"Geno's Forest" by XBrav
"Beware the Forest Mushrooms" by Yoko Shimomura

Back in 2007, the last Flash animation I did as I was graduating High School and entering College was a music video based on "Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars" for the Super Nintendo, a game that I have over a decade of history with. Yoko Shimomura's music is a huge part of what's so amazing about this game, "Beware the Forest Mushrooms" (theme of the "Forest Maze" stage) being one of her most highly regarded compositions. DJ XBrav created a lyrical version of the song that took the internet by storm many years ago, evolving into a meme that fans of the game all know and love. Martin Hagwell later remixed this into the popular "Rawest Forest" song, which I later used as the song for the music video that has now received millions of views in the past several years.

Today, as the last Flash animation I'm doing as I graduate College and enter into the rest of my life: Myself, Blake "ShadyVox" Swift, Bryon "Psyguy" Beaubien and Musical Mike Patterson, have joined forces to bring you a new version of the popular Forest Maze composition from Super Mario RPG, paying tribute to both XBrav's and Marta's remixes as well as Yoko Shimomura's original piece. This animation was done over the course of two weeks, as opposed to the original music video that was finished in one week. I crammed in as many geeky references in there as I possibly could to show my appreciation for this amazing game and I hope everyone who's ever played Super Mario RPG will get a big smile in remembering all the fun stuff from Mario and company's adventures. Big thanks as well to my creative partners that helped in making this song and everyone who supported me during the animation process.

Follow Geno's route there!

Reviews


RyuForceRyuForce

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 10, 2011

A simply great video

The remix to the music is nice and the only possible downside to this move is that some of the images while appears in SMRPG, it has little to do with the infamous forest. Still you quickly stop caring with the amazing animation and song. It just came out a beautiful remix and reminder to the fans of the series why the game was so awesome.



RockMaster0421RockMaster0421

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 10, 2011

Catchy tune, great animation- AWESOME VID!

Kirbopher has done it yet again with his talented flash work and great knowledge of Nintendo games. He has taken one of the most obscure, yet still extremely addicting Mario games- and made a kick-ass music video to make those of us who have never played th game realize what we're missing. If only I had a credit card or something to buy the game off of the Wii Store.

Why not a 10 you may ask? Well, I guess the animation isn't 100% perfect.... don't get me wrong, it is remarkable and very detailed. It's just that there is still a bit of room for slight improvement here and there.

Overall, another awesome Kirbopher video, and a song I may want to download onto my iPod.


People find this review helpful!

MatthePMattheP

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 10, 2011

Spectacular; sheer brilliance.

Wow, I think this may be the 2nd thing I've ever reviewed of yours, and I've been a giant fan of yours since way back in 2005. XD You have a distinctive style, and I gotta say, I can't believe how much you've improved. What a great piece to show your progress. I honestly have to rush this to get everything I want to say down, down!

First off, I absolutely love the style. You added such a mood that I feel the hopelessness, and the music compliments it perfectly.

The beginning was amazing. Mario, getting closer to Peach, with the soft mood, then realizing he's lost, Peach disappearing, having to find his way, trees covering the light he was just gazing upon. What's that have to do with anything? The mood. The entire video felt, looked, and sounded amazing. It's so good, it didn't even feel like you were making references, it looked like it WAS the video.

But as I seem to have been doing lately, let's start with things you could touch up. (As from what I see, is you pushing your limits and showing what you learned):

- Inconsistant style: I don't mean this like the epic outline and themes. I mean that your backgrounds would change completely, or the characters don't feel like they belong where they are because the styles are so different, like the beginning. The trees and Mushrooms looked odd when you see Mario. It wasn't as persistent problem as it went on, but it stuck out to me.
- Song cuts: You didn't use the entire song. It irked me a bit after seeing this, and looking at the full song that half of it wasn't there. While I do see that it might've ruined the Animation as it was (It's hard finding things you can improve on this piece) flawlessly choreographed and flowed beautifully, I thought that the ACTUAL start of the song would've been great to reference your first work. But again, that may ruin the mood you set. That, and you did reference the original in the very end.
- Missing items: There were a few parts missing things. Such as at the end when the cast is on Bowser's Keep's cliff, the Sword is missing from the castle. When the cast is all together, the sword is there in the game and it looked like it WAS referencing the Party storming the keep.

The problems above was even me trying to nit pick. I had to search for things to point out.

The amazing:

= Mood: I loved the entire feel of the movie. It had the perfect atmosphere and actually portrayed the parties role quite well.
= Animation: Fantastic. Other than the above problem of the occasional inconsistancy, the animation flowed beautifully, and the art a huge improvement over the first Rawest Forrest. I smiled seeing this, since I've been a fan since 2005, when you first started releasing drawn animations. The emotion you give your characters pulls me in. Mario was the greatest example of this. I can't even describe how well this was made.
= Flow: The entire animation flowed perfect. Transitions executed beautifully, watching Mario's adventure through his eyes (in a sense) really added to the above two statements great. I never felt lost or confused when watching this, great job.
= Music: A great piece. At first I was like 'wuuuuh' until I realized it was cut, and made by you, Psyguy and a few others. The song was great. I honestly don't know how you managed to make such a spectacular piece, and make it seem to simple. The instruments all come great together, and also transitions great. This flash and the song go spectacular together.

I know I'm forgetting something, but I'm running out of characters. So I'll close with this:

Fantastic Animation, and I can't wait to see where you're headed with your career and I wish you the best!

Overall: 10/10 5/5

Current Score: 4.32 / 5.00 (+ 0.00067)



RockDricoRockDrico

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 10, 2011

This is so good....

This is so good...I think I'm going to watch this a SECOND time!

This is so good...I think I'm going to watch this a THIRD time!

This is so good...Ok so you get where I'm going with this right?



ScatheeScathee

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 10, 2011

Neat Song ^_^

The song was dry at parts and hard to understand at others, but overall it was catchy and used probably my favorite VGM of all time (or at least top 3). Don't listen to everyone else, it was a great song, and obviously it was #1 in the portal, so the people giving you threes aren't the majority.


People find this review helpful!