Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 9, 2011 | 12:01 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature July 10, 2011
  • Weekly 2nd Place July 12, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

"Waltz of the Forest"
Performed by Final Boss
Vocals by Kirbopher
Rapping by ShadyVox
Opera by MusicalMike
Arrangement by Psyguy

"Rawest Forest" by Martin Hagwell
"Geno's Forest" by XBrav
"Beware the Forest Mushrooms" by Yoko Shimomura

Back in 2007, the last Flash animation I did as I was graduating High School and entering College was a music video based on "Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars" for the Super Nintendo, a game that I have over a decade of history with. Yoko Shimomura's music is a huge part of what's so amazing about this game, "Beware the Forest Mushrooms" (theme of the "Forest Maze" stage) being one of her most highly regarded compositions. DJ XBrav created a lyrical version of the song that took the internet by storm many years ago, evolving into a meme that fans of the game all know and love. Martin Hagwell later remixed this into the popular "Rawest Forest" song, which I later used as the song for the music video that has now received millions of views in the past several years.

Today, as the last Flash animation I'm doing as I graduate College and enter into the rest of my life: Myself, Blake "ShadyVox" Swift, Bryon "Psyguy" Beaubien and Musical Mike Patterson, have joined forces to bring you a new version of the popular Forest Maze composition from Super Mario RPG, paying tribute to both XBrav's and Marta's remixes as well as Yoko Shimomura's original piece. This animation was done over the course of two weeks, as opposed to the original music video that was finished in one week. I crammed in as many geeky references in there as I possibly could to show my appreciation for this amazing game and I hope everyone who's ever played Super Mario RPG will get a big smile in remembering all the fun stuff from Mario and company's adventures. Big thanks as well to my creative partners that helped in making this song and everyone who supported me during the animation process.

Follow Geno's route there!

Reviews


ScatheeScathee

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 10, 2011

Neat Song ^_^

The song was dry at parts and hard to understand at others, but overall it was catchy and used probably my favorite VGM of all time (or at least top 3). Don't listen to everyone else, it was a great song, and obviously it was #1 in the portal, so the people giving you threes aren't the majority.


People find this review helpful!

dr123dr123

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 10, 2011

I felt a shiver go down my spine...

This is very good. I don't have much else to say.



jb043194jb043194

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 10, 2011

maybe a little..

iit was cool, the art animation seemed a lil lazy some of the time but good work.



Alpha-NuvaAlpha-Nuva

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 10, 2011

I was waiting for you to remake this!

I'm glad you did. Your style really has improved. You incorporated some interested shots and angles into this animation and played around with colors (and a lack thereof) to achieve some very unique images, particularly leaving the characters as simple outlines. It was just very effective. Lines were super smooth, I comparison to the last animation, as was the animation. That was probably the change I most enjoyed to see

The song was a little bland in terms of buildup, however. I'm aware it's a different style, but I think you guys should've worked with the rap battles again. Mario never seemed cooler to me than when I heard his verse in Rawest in the Forest. This one was kind of slow and passive.

But regardless, an excellent overall job. Can't wait to see what you belt out in the next couple of years.


People find this review helpful!

dodo4hiredodo4hire

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 10, 2011

waltz is in 3/4 not in 4/4...

... exept for that, was a really nice song and nice animation. i havent played it (long enough) so i cant really see the refferences. but anyway 8/10 4/5


People find this review helpful!