Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 9, 2011 | 12:01 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature July 10, 2011
  • Weekly 2nd Place July 12, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

"Waltz of the Forest"
Performed by Final Boss
Vocals by Kirbopher
Rapping by ShadyVox
Opera by MusicalMike
Arrangement by Psyguy

"Rawest Forest" by Martin Hagwell
"Geno's Forest" by XBrav
"Beware the Forest Mushrooms" by Yoko Shimomura

Back in 2007, the last Flash animation I did as I was graduating High School and entering College was a music video based on "Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars" for the Super Nintendo, a game that I have over a decade of history with. Yoko Shimomura's music is a huge part of what's so amazing about this game, "Beware the Forest Mushrooms" (theme of the "Forest Maze" stage) being one of her most highly regarded compositions. DJ XBrav created a lyrical version of the song that took the internet by storm many years ago, evolving into a meme that fans of the game all know and love. Martin Hagwell later remixed this into the popular "Rawest Forest" song, which I later used as the song for the music video that has now received millions of views in the past several years.

Today, as the last Flash animation I'm doing as I graduate College and enter into the rest of my life: Myself, Blake "ShadyVox" Swift, Bryon "Psyguy" Beaubien and Musical Mike Patterson, have joined forces to bring you a new version of the popular Forest Maze composition from Super Mario RPG, paying tribute to both XBrav's and Marta's remixes as well as Yoko Shimomura's original piece. This animation was done over the course of two weeks, as opposed to the original music video that was finished in one week. I crammed in as many geeky references in there as I possibly could to show my appreciation for this amazing game and I hope everyone who's ever played Super Mario RPG will get a big smile in remembering all the fun stuff from Mario and company's adventures. Big thanks as well to my creative partners that helped in making this song and everyone who supported me during the animation process.

Follow Geno's route there!

Reviews


ILKSOOPILKSOOP

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 10, 2011

Finally.

You haven;t posted anything in ever, took you a while. It was alright, Rawest Forest was better, but I'll give it a 8/10.



YotaXPYotaXP

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 10, 2011

Spot on, chaps!

Oh dear god, Kirb. I never though I'd see the day you re-acknowledge that old animation of yours! Shady and Mike too, you all nailed it.



mariofablemariofable

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 10, 2011

Awesome and more improved

Not only is this awesome but the animation has greatly improved, whats great is how you mixed different styles in certain aspects which made this a great combo, Awesome job as always guys!

@CarbonWater

"Growing up" is being able to do whatever without shame, you grow up, they do whatever they want as its their hard work, if you dont like it, so be it, but dont say retarted words as a way to change anything.

There's no "Bullshit" in this world


People find this review helpful!

DarkKiranamiDarkKiranami

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 10, 2011

It's good

There were some parts of this remix that weren't as good as Marta's though, so when I watched this expecting the most perfect version of the song, it let me down a little. For example, the voice of the goomba at the start just seems to cut abruptly into the next part of the song (the timing didn't seem quite right to me, and that kind of thing can really throw off the mood of the song). If the remix (mostly concerning the vocal parts) was a bit more fleshed out, I would consider this a 9 or 10.

The animation was nicely arranged, and crammed in a good amount of references to SMRPG as well. Overall it was a good flash for a great game, both entertaining and nostalgic. Good work to all involved, and good luck Chris on your future work.



porkyspine1porkyspine1

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 10, 2011

best thing ever

No, seriously. it is.