Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 9, 2011 | 12:01 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature July 10, 2011
  • Weekly 2nd Place July 12, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

"Waltz of the Forest"
Performed by Final Boss
Vocals by Kirbopher
Rapping by ShadyVox
Opera by MusicalMike
Arrangement by Psyguy

"Rawest Forest" by Martin Hagwell
"Geno's Forest" by XBrav
"Beware the Forest Mushrooms" by Yoko Shimomura

Back in 2007, the last Flash animation I did as I was graduating High School and entering College was a music video based on "Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars" for the Super Nintendo, a game that I have over a decade of history with. Yoko Shimomura's music is a huge part of what's so amazing about this game, "Beware the Forest Mushrooms" (theme of the "Forest Maze" stage) being one of her most highly regarded compositions. DJ XBrav created a lyrical version of the song that took the internet by storm many years ago, evolving into a meme that fans of the game all know and love. Martin Hagwell later remixed this into the popular "Rawest Forest" song, which I later used as the song for the music video that has now received millions of views in the past several years.

Today, as the last Flash animation I'm doing as I graduate College and enter into the rest of my life: Myself, Blake "ShadyVox" Swift, Bryon "Psyguy" Beaubien and Musical Mike Patterson, have joined forces to bring you a new version of the popular Forest Maze composition from Super Mario RPG, paying tribute to both XBrav's and Marta's remixes as well as Yoko Shimomura's original piece. This animation was done over the course of two weeks, as opposed to the original music video that was finished in one week. I crammed in as many geeky references in there as I possibly could to show my appreciation for this amazing game and I hope everyone who's ever played Super Mario RPG will get a big smile in remembering all the fun stuff from Mario and company's adventures. Big thanks as well to my creative partners that helped in making this song and everyone who supported me during the animation process.

Follow Geno's route there!

Reviews


FlatfireFlatfire

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 11, 2011

Amazing

Smooth animation, well drawn, good audio, amazing lyrics. I love it



WinWoungSG0001WinWoungSG0001

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 11, 2011

Very good version!

I have been playing the original Super Mario RPG Legend of the Seven Stars and seeing your forest maze work is really enlightened many people. Animation as I'm aware of are clean and great. Continue the AWSOME work and have a great day.10/10 :3


People find this review helpful!

Bigbang35Bigbang35

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 11, 2011

Kirbopher is off the chain!

Nice work man if only some like your talents can make the forgotten legend Star Fox to be Reborn again! Please Kirbopher make Fox-Star Fox a Legend again Please?!



mikefunmikefun

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 11, 2011

FUCKING BEU+IFUK

god the is a reworking of one of your previous videos I mean I havnt heard a song this addicting since rawestforest



joeicatrivantejoeicatrivante

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 10, 2011

That's beautiful, man.

Pure nostalgia. I got goosebumps all over.
I'm not gonna compare it with the other SMRPG video. Both are awesome.
Nice tribute for one of the best games of the SNES. [I miss Geno *sigh*]


People find this review helpful!