Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 2, 2011 | 12:15 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature July 3, 2011
  • Weekly 4th Place July 5, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Story of the Blanks is a short creepypasta fangame created in Adobe Flash. It was created for a game developing contest at Equestria Gaming
( http://www.equestriagaming.com/2011/06/creepypasta-game-contest.html )

The game is constrained to use genuine NES graphics and graphical limitations (down to the very 8 sprites per line limitation). Most if not all the music in the game was created by various people using famitracker (a NES/famicon tracker).

The excellent music was made by

CRTified Technician
http://www.youtube.com/user/DTRXCreations

Zero V2
https://8bc.org/members/Zero+V2

DarkNES
http://www.youtube.com/user/DarkNES2A03

You rock, woohoo!

MLP:FiM is copyright by Hasbro. This is a fangame made by a fan. It is not endorsed by, or in any way connected with Hasbro.

Reviews


ShenkuriShenkuri

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 6, 2011

XDXD

I got all the way to the house with no doorknob & the doorknob in the well. XDXD I got lost after that part. did I miss the crank somewere earlier in the game? :P this game certainly gave me the heeby jeebies even though it wasn't really that scary. :)



stonerabbitstonerabbit

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 13, 2011

Wow.

Not what I was expecting, although the reference that led me here implied it might be dark.

Excellent, excellent use of atmosphere. The are times where the music and setting is very happy, but because of its context -- the fact that it doesn't make sense for what Applebloom ran into to be there, coupled with the unusually cheery nature of her surroundings contrasting with what she was just around -- simply adds to the tension and feeling of... "something's not right here"/impending terror.

The ending was great. I didn't find it to end too abruptly -- it was a story of an evil. Once she got away, it ended just fine.

The 8-bit style really gives it the feel of being a genuine MLP game made in the 80s for the NES, and the second half being unremittingly grim just added to the enjoyment. The player knows early on that something awful is going to happen, and the fct that you can lose makes the suspense seem even more intense.


People find this review helpful!

Blaze-HeatnixBlaze-Heatnix

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 4, 2011

Well, that was pretty creepy.

I liked it, but the music is apparently missing...the title screen music worked fine, but there was no music after that. Was there supposed to be? Because I started the game again, and not even the title theme plays.


Donitz responds:

Yepp, unless something went really buggy the second tune should start as you enter the forest. Unless you accidentally pressed M.


RubberTruckyRubberTrucky

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 4, 2011

Creepy

If I'm not mistaken the curse has something to do with the ponies killing (?) Ruby for getting a cutie mark.

It's nice to see an MLP game being made that has a lot of effort put into it and isn't there to point out the bad things on the franchise.
The graphics are well adjusted to fit the format and the game was nice too.

It was a bit short and it was more of an interactive story than anything challenging. It would have been nice to see some more plotline development and more things about the curse being revealed, if it were just by letting the ponies catch you. Even more clues to be shown that tell the sinister tale.
I don't think it's sequel material, but can give rise to a prequel or a more detailed remake.

Overall, I applaud the serious take on the MLP theme.

BTB: is it based on existing fanfic and if not,would you condone such a fanfic to be written?


People find this review helpful!
Donitz responds:

Thanks for all the positive reviews! It is So Awesome to see so many people liking the game!

The story isn't based on an existing fanfic, but I wouldn't mind there being one :)


ACRedACRed

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 3, 2011

HEY COOL

That's the old Willow music. Creepy too


People find this review helpful!