Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 2, 2011 | 12:15 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature July 3, 2011
  • Weekly 4th Place July 5, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Story of the Blanks is a short creepypasta fangame created in Adobe Flash. It was created for a game developing contest at Equestria Gaming
( http://www.equestriagaming.com/2011/06/creepypasta-game-contest.html )

The game is constrained to use genuine NES graphics and graphical limitations (down to the very 8 sprites per line limitation). Most if not all the music in the game was created by various people using famitracker (a NES/famicon tracker).

The excellent music was made by

CRTified Technician
http://www.youtube.com/user/DTRXCreations

Zero V2
https://8bc.org/members/Zero+V2

DarkNES
http://www.youtube.com/user/DarkNES2A03

You rock, woohoo!

MLP:FiM is copyright by Hasbro. This is a fangame made by a fan. It is not endorsed by, or in any way connected with Hasbro.

Reviews


Sweetheart99989Sweetheart99989

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars July 10, 2011

Fine

I mean It was interesting but A I saw it comming and B for awhile I was just like whats the point



Pyre1millionPyre1million

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 10, 2011

Oh my...

Building on a recent review - the dialogue may have seemed stereotypical in the ruined town segment, but what it was actually SAYING is what got me. There's a reason dialogue like that is used so often - when you're dealing with a city of crazies who killed a filly because she had a mark (and they did not, hence 'blanks!') - it very, very much works.

Don't think it needs a sequel, either. Short, (bitter)sweet, and to the point. A wonderful self-contained story. Well done.


People find this review helpful!

deastroyer565deastroyer565

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 9, 2011

Is it, ZOMBIES?!?!?!

i loved the game although it could have been longer and had more characters, i was NOT expecting THAT to happen! Great game, could use a squeal though.


People find this review helpful!

GearranwolfGearranwolf

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 9, 2011

Zombie Ponies!

Wow, that really caught me off guard! I wasn't expecting the latter part of the game at all (seriously, zombie ponies, that's just terrifying). A very well-made game, capturing both the nostalgia of the 8-bit days, as well as the enjoyable characterization of the TV show.

Well done.



Mariofan9Mariofan9

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 9, 2011

Well done.

You did a good job in creating both a retro and a scary atmosphere.

Forcing the player to ignore Twilight's advice as well as putting them off guard with the initial friendliness of Sunny Town was achieved beautifully.

Odd, maybe, but the part that managed to scare me most was when you enter the mansion and there's some "dialogue". The empty dialogue boxes had an unnerving effect, because they don't influence the game so much as they influence my understanding of it. Messing with the player's head, to make them feel as lost as the in-game character, that is the key to scaring them.

From there on out, I'm afraid the 'freak out' factor decreased somewhat. Sure, the ruined town had a spooky atmosphere, but the music was a bit too present in my opinion. Certain parts of it fit well, but others were too active. Most of the dialogue was only moderately unsettling. It came off as just a tad stereotypical 'city of crazy people' dialogue. "She was going to ruin the party", "We'll never let you end up like her", "Stay with us"... it's by no means bad, but next time, I'd advise dialogue that's a little less predictable for the situation. Involve the player emotionally. I hope I haven't stopped making sense yet.

Now, back to the positives. Making one of the "silhouettes" just stand there was clever. It makes the player ponder if they should come near them. The third silhouette to appear moves in incredibly unsettling spurts which sent a bit of a shiver down my spine.

The role of Ruby in the whole thing is interesting, but hardly elaborated on. Can we expect a sequel?

Ah, that turned out to be quite a rant. If I came off as negative, I didn't intend to. You did very well, and I hope to see an even more unsettling sequel. I hope my critique is somehow useful.


People find this review helpful!