Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 2, 2011 | 12:15 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature July 3, 2011
  • Weekly 4th Place July 5, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Story of the Blanks is a short creepypasta fangame created in Adobe Flash. It was created for a game developing contest at Equestria Gaming
( http://www.equestriagamin g.com/2011/06/creepypasta -game-contest.html )

The game is constrained to use genuine NES graphics and graphical limitations (down to the very 8 sprites per line limitation). Most if not all the music in the game was created by various people using famitracker (a NES/famicon tracker).

The excellent music was made by

CRTified Technician
http://www.youtube.com/us er/DTRXCreations

Zero V2
https://8bc.org/members/Z ero+V2

DarkNES
http://www.youtube.com/user/DarkNES2A03

You rock, woohoo!

MLP:FiM is copyright by Hasbro. This is a fangame made by a fan. It is not endorsed by, or in any way connected with Hasbro.

Reviews


knuclear200xknuclear200x

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 9, 2011

Yay a game with Derpy NO NO NO NO thats NOT DERPY

I played the game and THEN saw the rating. I thought it was rated T for...T time! And then a skeleton popped out.

Anyways, the shift in tone was icing on the freaking cake and that "Rainbow Dash" zombie was almost hard to avoid.

After beating the game, I decided to wiki for ponies named Ruby. There's 3 as of this moment. One was a background pony who was pulled away by her mother in "Bridle Gossip" but she was a pink filly with a "three gems" cutie mark. There's another filly named Noi/Bonnie/Odd Job who has a magnifying glass mark, but it changes throughout the episode "Call of the Cutie". Lastly, there is another named Ruby Rhubarb, but her mark is a pie. She's also a cowgirl with green-yellow fur and lives in Appleloosa.

Hopefully someday, this Ruby will be canon.


People find this review helpful!

TezhizTezhiz

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 9, 2011

Grimdark.....

An NES grimdark MLP adventure??? What's this world coming to....


People find this review helpful!

rezicrezic

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 9, 2011

Outstanding!

I love how this game is designed. I initially opened this game up when I friend was over who didn't like MLP. I stopped playing 'cause it looked a little simple and wouldn't entertain us both. I wish I woulda kept goin'.

I absolutely love the use of color in this game, I wish there were NES games out there that did what this game did. It set the mood very well and was able to instill a scary atmosphere using a limited palette and resolution. Another thing I enjoyed that made it feel like it could essentially be a real NES game is the fact that when you die you start at the beginning of the cutscene. Designing the game like that might be a bit cumbersome to some players, but it also gives you a reason not to die. (I recently beat Ninja Gaiden and Zelda 2 which both did similar things.)

I'd love to see a full expansion of this game, keep up the amazing work.


People find this review helpful!

MAsterBigMAsterBig

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 9, 2011

waht in the hell...

...we wont let you go...



bebooybebooy

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 9, 2011

Wow

Great game. Fun. must play. 9 because after you see the skeleton the plot gets kinda dark