Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 28, 2011 | 9:54 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice June 28, 2011
  • Review Crew Pick June 28, 2011
  • Daily Feature June 29, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Working with the animation students at Brigham Young University has been a real treat. After much blood, sweat, and tears, we have finally completed Alight. We spent countless hours animating Sparker, the "fire boy," and Aquanna the "water girl," to get the effects and character animation looking just right. To us, they're almost real-life characters by now. We hope you enjoy this unique little piece of Flash animation, mixed with After Effects compositing.

For a higher-resolution version of the film, visit http://www.keyserhouse.co m/alight.

Reviews


lukeclooneylukeclooney

Rated 1 / 5 stars July 5, 2011

Wait, i don't get it..

Ok so a water thing mystically formed on some volcanic rocky terrain type thing and a fire thing did so too, and so they handshaked but they couldnt touch eachother.. then for some reason a giant house popped out of nowhere and smashed the water thing and dissappeared and then the fire thing turned into a tornado or whatever and blew up the house thing.. then out of the ashes came terminator and then the fire made it into a fleshy terminator and then for some reason water got on it and made it a human? makes no sense



astrangestrangerastrangestranger

Rated 0.5 / 5 stars July 15, 2011

Beautiful art!

Just kidding, it's not so great. I just thought I should repeat what everyone else is saying. In all honesty, this is terribly overrated. Reading the comments, you'd think it's the most amazing thing in the world, when in reality, it's an animation of nothing... ~~WEST SIDE~~



Tweek273Tweek273

Rated 0.5 / 5 stars July 2, 2011

Well

That was pretty pointless. Two things meet, one gets killed, the other one kills a giant robot thing, and some trippy sequence of a skeleton turning into a human thing.



EwigeDreamerEwigeDreamer

Rated 0 / 5 stars July 2, 2011

Really beautifully.

I can tell, that this animated cartoon shows your abilities, praiseworthy, but on it the content comes to an end... The easy plot which does not have special sense... It is little bit strange. To like me the image of two opposite elements and their love to each other))) you perfectly represent fire in a vector))) + presence 3D. Try to make something standing in respect of an epic plot))) I am assured, that at you all will turn out more than)))
Forgive me my English. I at all do not know it
=)



KelrycorKelrycor

Rated 0 / 5 stars July 6, 2011

Disqualified itself

I dishonor the fact that it is a flash just playing a video file (you can clearly see the video artefacts). Maybe you used flash to create that video file, but NG is last but not least a flash portal, not a video portal. So i would have liked to see the live rendered flash file. That would also have caused no need for a high-res version on you're site, if it would be live rendered by flash.

Despite that point, I appreciate the content and the big efforts put into creating this piece of art. Well done.