Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 28, 2011 | 9:54 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice June 28, 2011
  • Review Crew Pick June 28, 2011
  • Daily Feature June 29, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Working with the animation students at Brigham Young University has been a real treat. After much blood, sweat, and tears, we have finally completed Alight. We spent countless hours animating Sparker, the "fire boy," and Aquanna the "water girl," to get the effects and character animation looking just right. To us, they're almost real-life characters by now. We hope you enjoy this unique little piece of Flash animation, mixed with After Effects compositing.

For a higher-resolution version of the film, visit http://www.keyserhouse.co m/alight.

Reviews


FullPaperFullPaper

Rated 2 / 5 stars July 4, 2011

Vibrant and fiery animation, but soggy plot

First of all, I want to say a great job with the animation and art used in this movie. I loved the water texture you used and the flickering flames on both of the characters. The interaction of the 2D and 3D effects played a good part too, and wasn't too distracting. So based on the visuals, this movie is impressive.

The problem, though, is everything else. It's pretty blatant that the story is about "love and lost", but the development of this is just so bland. The characters barely spent a minute interacting with eachother, and we're supposed to believe that they were made for eachother. This movie should've had some brief sequences so we can know more about the character's connection, but what I saw was a paper-thin story that's supposed to make gullible viewers shed tears for a bland, generic story. What really made me roll my eyes was the blatant soft piano music that's supposed to push people into thinking "this movie has so much emotion."

My other problem with this movie is what people who voted this movie 2's and 0's also hated: confusion and lack of explanation. I thought it was okay to see living, breathing elements with human emotions, but what the hell was that castle? With no explanation, in this crater-based setting, we see a castle-looking thing appear from nowhere to serve basically as a plot device to "kill" the water? I don't mean so much offense to this movie, but that was a dumb idea. It's like the castle was only made to show off 3D objects in a 2D world, nothing else. And in a way, I felt like the fire was the bad guy; recklessly destroying something that wasn't intended to cause any harm to anything. And what really made me confused was the ending. There was just so many questions that needed answering: Where did that metal exoskeleton come from? How did the fusion of fire and rain turn into skin and tissue? What does this transformation sequence into man mean?

So overall, the effects are good, but I have the same gripe with this movie like I do with Avatar: Instead of the cool effects telling an interesting and unique story, you let a bland story tell special effects.


There's some debate, but overall people find this review helpful

lukeclooneylukeclooney

Rated 1 / 5 stars July 5, 2011

Wait, i don't get it..

Ok so a water thing mystically formed on some volcanic rocky terrain type thing and a fire thing did so too, and so they handshaked but they couldnt touch eachother.. then for some reason a giant house popped out of nowhere and smashed the water thing and dissappeared and then the fire thing turned into a tornado or whatever and blew up the house thing.. then out of the ashes came terminator and then the fire made it into a fleshy terminator and then for some reason water got on it and made it a human? makes no sense



astrangestrangerastrangestranger

Rated 0.5 / 5 stars July 15, 2011

Beautiful art!

Just kidding, it's not so great. I just thought I should repeat what everyone else is saying. In all honesty, this is terribly overrated. Reading the comments, you'd think it's the most amazing thing in the world, when in reality, it's an animation of nothing... ~~WEST SIDE~~



Tweek273Tweek273

Rated 0.5 / 5 stars July 2, 2011

Well

That was pretty pointless. Two things meet, one gets killed, the other one kills a giant robot thing, and some trippy sequence of a skeleton turning into a human thing.



EwigeDreamerEwigeDreamer

Rated 0 / 5 stars July 2, 2011

Really beautifully.

I can tell, that this animated cartoon shows your abilities, praiseworthy, but on it the content comes to an end... The easy plot which does not have special sense... It is little bit strange. To like me the image of two opposite elements and their love to each other))) you perfectly represent fire in a vector))) + presence 3D. Try to make something standing in respect of an epic plot))) I am assured, that at you all will turn out more than)))
Forgive me my English. I at all do not know it
=)