Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 28, 2011 | 9:54 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice June 28, 2011
  • Review Crew Pick June 28, 2011
  • Daily Feature June 29, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Working with the animation students at Brigham Young University has been a real treat. After much blood, sweat, and tears, we have finally completed Alight. We spent countless hours animating Sparker, the "fire boy," and Aquanna the "water girl," to get the effects and character animation looking just right. To us, they're almost real-life characters by now. We hope you enjoy this unique little piece of Flash animation, mixed with After Effects compositing.

For a higher-resolution version of the film, visit http://www.keyserhouse.co m/alight.

Reviews


ForeverknightForeverknight

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 10, 2011

I agree with perpetual-mind

Great animation, but the story lacks depth...
I would think about a series of three short animations, 1 where they meet and discover each other, 2 where they journey together for a while for some grand adventures (and where you see a hint of the evil in the world), then finally this one where the evil destroys what they have (maybe in a bit more non-accidental way) and then the fire destroys the evil... And the ending would be that this was a story about the creation of man... There is a dark side in anyone, everyone is made out of the simplest elements... Great filosofical themes...



horsenwelleshorsenwelles

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars June 29, 2011

plot made no sense

but the animation was stunning.

to be honest, the writing was simply broken. the fire boy seemed to really care too much about another being he had just met, and there was no explanation about where they emerged from, why they liked eachother, why the towers were emerging, and why he turned human.

this made no sense, but it was pretty. good job for making the movie avatar once again.


People find this review helpful!

GhostDrakaroGhostDrakaro

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 11, 2011

Oh nos!

Teh poor little dribles got dead? *sniff* 3= nice little animation though, the part at the end was kinda creepy, im like "whaaaat" hah.



NepherdonNepherdon

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 5, 2011

Slow down and breathe.

As a student pursuing animation as a future career I really enjoyed this piece although at the end I was not sure if I was hungry for more. The animation was smooth to the point where it was beautiful, and the music set an amazing mood; but I feel like the animation happened way to fast.

At the beginning of this piece it is clear the the fire boy just meets the water girl, after seeing her death he decides to destroy the machines. I felt like there was not enough time spent developing their relationship for him to actually relate or if you will feel such sorrow, in result I did not feel like I had enough attachment
to relate to either characters (especially Sparker in this film)

But all in all it was a very good animation project. Please do make this into a series, I am sure you have will gain several enthusiastic fans!



rockfullerrockfuller

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 7, 2011

its better than star wars

it was vary great but it laged out a little but still it was great :D