Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 28, 2011 | 9:54 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice June 28, 2011
  • Review Crew Pick June 28, 2011
  • Daily Feature June 29, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Working with the animation students at Brigham Young University has been a real treat. After much blood, sweat, and tears, we have finally completed Alight. We spent countless hours animating Sparker, the "fire boy," and Aquanna the "water girl," to get the effects and character animation looking just right. To us, they're almost real-life characters by now. We hope you enjoy this unique little piece of Flash animation, mixed with After Effects compositing.

For a higher-resolution version of the film, visit http://www.keyserhouse.co m/alight.

Reviews


GhostDrakaroGhostDrakaro

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 11, 2011

Oh nos!

Teh poor little dribles got dead? *sniff* 3= nice little animation though, the part at the end was kinda creepy, im like "whaaaat" hah.



NepherdonNepherdon

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 5, 2011

Slow down and breathe.

As a student pursuing animation as a future career I really enjoyed this piece although at the end I was not sure if I was hungry for more. The animation was smooth to the point where it was beautiful, and the music set an amazing mood; but I feel like the animation happened way to fast.

At the beginning of this piece it is clear the the fire boy just meets the water girl, after seeing her death he decides to destroy the machines. I felt like there was not enough time spent developing their relationship for him to actually relate or if you will feel such sorrow, in result I did not feel like I had enough attachment
to relate to either characters (especially Sparker in this film)

But all in all it was a very good animation project. Please do make this into a series, I am sure you have will gain several enthusiastic fans!



rockfullerrockfuller

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 7, 2011

its better than star wars

it was vary great but it laged out a little but still it was great :D



sweetcommandosweetcommando

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars September 22, 2012

the animation was pretty much Disney and the music composition was amazing. however the plot really fucked up the entire video. it started nice and easy to follow but then for some reason he turns into a human- robot?????? possibly i did not understand the message in this movie but please, make more stuff like this with a better plot



Mysterious-pigMysterious-pig

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 2, 2011

I expected more

The characters barely had any interaction time (I mean, all they did was trying to touch each other) before a giant fortress appeared out of nothing and killed Aquanna? What the hell? I didn't even have time to begin sympathizing with her! It just feels like the story was tremenduously rushed. Blood, sweat and tears animating them to perfection are good for nothing if the story suffers for it.


People find this review helpful!