Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 28, 2011 | 9:54 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice June 28, 2011
  • Review Crew Pick June 28, 2011
  • Daily Feature June 29, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Working with the animation students at Brigham Young University has been a real treat. After much blood, sweat, and tears, we have finally completed Alight. We spent countless hours animating Sparker, the "fire boy," and Aquanna the "water girl," to get the effects and character animation looking just right. To us, they're almost real-life characters by now. We hope you enjoy this unique little piece of Flash animation, mixed with After Effects compositing.

For a higher-resolution version of the film, visit http://www.keyserhouse.co m/alight.

Reviews


perpetual-mindperpetual-mind

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 10, 2011

Brilliant animation, but the story suffers.

The animation, soundtrack and design were all spectacular, and its obvious a lot of work has been put in to this.
I have to say though, that I find it a shame you decided to go with this story rather than something simpler.

The characters have a lot of charm, and I could see myself really gaining an emotional attachment to them, but there on screen for such a very brief amount of time that there is no real build up.
You don't get to see there relationship grow, you don't have any real justification for why the flame character gets so enraged at the death of someone he has known for barely a few seconds.

Not only that, but this enemy has absolutely no explanation.
We don't know if destroying these towers is justified.
Are they evil?
Is there some dark force living inside them?
Or is the flame killing them solely for revenge of what could have been an accident?

I would love to see this converted into a series, where the story could build slowly over time, rather than being rushed through it, and we could be properly be introduced to these characters and the threats there facing.

All in all, this was a VERY good flash.
Its just a bit of a shame that the story didn't quite have the power behind it that it could have.


People find this review helpful!

MissLx4MissLx4

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 4, 2011

Beautiful, but lacking.

There's no doubt that the animation itself of this piece was beautiful, but I felt as if the story was lacking. The water girl and fire boy only interact for a few seconds, yet the boy does all he can to destroy the monster who killed her. There needs to be something there to show that the two beings are close to each other and that they've been together through tough times and that they made each other happy, which would then absolutely qualify the boy to risk his own life for the girl. 7/10 stars.


People find this review helpful!

diamondcleardiamondclear

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 15, 2011

well

7/10, 3/5, i could just get a hampster,a lighter and a cup of water, drop a stone in the cup(making the cup break and water go into carpet/splash). have the lighter brun the rock,POSSIBLE, and have the hampster just stand there, that,is what i feel like im watching,i HATE "emotional" flashes on NG,i don't come here to cry or whatever the fuck this video's purpose was,overall nice piano work and very well put together flash



sorenare7sorenare7

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars March 16, 2012

They look amazing, music fit's just right. The only thing that's wrong is that I don't understand what's going on. Don't get me wrong, you animations are vivid clear and more or less spectacular. I just don't understand the ... should I say ... plot.



Firewolf2000Firewolf2000

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 9, 2011

Fire Boy and Water Girl

The flash game Fire Boy and Water Girl immediately came to mind when I saw this.

Good animation, though it felt a little short though and the story made very little sense. Would of preferred something that developed more on the characters.


People find this review helpful!