Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 28, 2011 | 9:54 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice June 28, 2011
  • Review Crew Pick June 28, 2011
  • Daily Feature June 29, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Working with the animation students at Brigham Young University has been a real treat. After much blood, sweat, and tears, we have finally completed Alight. We spent countless hours animating Sparker, the "fire boy," and Aquanna the "water girl," to get the effects and character animation looking just right. To us, they're almost real-life characters by now. We hope you enjoy this unique little piece of Flash animation, mixed with After Effects compositing.

For a higher-resolution version of the film, visit http://www.keyserhouse.co m/alight.

Reviews


SephaelSephael

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 15, 2011

Very Enjoyable!

Critique: I thought the animations were fluid and beautiful. The music really fit the mood, even when the energy picked up. Sometimes the contrast of mellow music with high-pace action just feels right. The story (short and "rushed" as it was) was very emotional. I don't know how deep of a meaning you intended for it, but I think it hit its mark well enough.

Artistic view: I felt what you presented here was gorgeous! Two beings come into existence. They bond (however briefly) and due to uncontrolled circumstances (also unexplained ones) they are separated, causing an outrage that leads to vengeance. A story that can hold the test of time. I also loved how (I assume) the flame-boy was re-incarnated, starting with the machine he destroyed (and most likely hated), the fire he started as, and the water (symbolic of tears?) of his lost-love to form what I assume was man. I only wish it had been a touch longer and we got to see more of the water-girl's dance (hence only 9 out of 10), though perhaps the flash was short to match the length of the music..... I would definitely welcome a re-visit.


People find this review helpful!

catwomen61catwomen61

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 15, 2011

Quite beautiful.

I liked it, alot. I love the design of the characters, so props for that. The storyline was a bit weak, but then again, it's a short. It shouldn't really have one should it?

I was sad when you ended up cutting Aquanna off directly in the beginning. But I liked how Sparker seem to be infuriated. I see that you've captured emotions beautifully.

I also liked how the robot skeleton ended up with muscles and then skin, turning into man. Very brilliant, if I say so myself.

Good job with this. I hope to see more shorts from you later on!



Kirby0Kirby0

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 15, 2011

Alright.

The animation is great, but it is really mostly eyecandy. There wasn't much plot, and I don't understand how something made out of water can be crushed to death.

Other than that, the ending was decent, but lacking in appeal.



MikeJSingletonMikeJSingleton

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 15, 2011

Beautiful but...

I think you tried to pack too much into this short. I wanted to develop a likeness towards the characters, but as far as I can tell they were born, then they met, then they fell in love in less than a minute.

I think it might have been worth trying to tackle one aspect of this story line. Perhaps you could have introduced the characters in a way that implies they have known each other for a long time.

The main point is that the animation felt very rushed. Hope this helps improve your work :)



ulmuchihaulmuchiha

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 15, 2011

Ok what the fuck

WHY ISN"T THIS IN THEATERS? this animation is epic!