Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 28, 2011 | 9:54 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice June 28, 2011
  • Review Crew Pick June 28, 2011
  • Daily Feature June 29, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Working with the animation students at Brigham Young University has been a real treat. After much blood, sweat, and tears, we have finally completed Alight. We spent countless hours animating Sparker, the "fire boy," and Aquanna the "water girl," to get the effects and character animation looking just right. To us, they're almost real-life characters by now. We hope you enjoy this unique little piece of Flash animation, mixed with After Effects compositing.

For a higher-resolution version of the film, visit http://www.keyserhouse.co m/alight.

Reviews


flashworksflashworks

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 28, 2011

What the ????

Why the hell this movie is scored 3.94????? Score 5 belongs to it!
Best flash i've ever seen!!



SergeantLukeSergeantLuke

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 28, 2011

Absolutely Phenomenal

This is among the best submissions I have ever seen on Newgrounds. The entire team has clearly worked their hardest to make this as good as they can, and they succeeded.

The animation is beautiful. Sparker and Aquanna really do look like they're made of fire and water, and they move like they're real creatures. And, of course, they're absolutely adorable. That horrible robot looks fantastic, too; really scary and destructive-looking.

The music by Neil Bly is simplistic, but it suits the quiet and melancholy mood of the film perfectly. You don't need a whole orchestra when a piano and drums will do just fine.

"Alight" clearly took hours and hours and hours of work from its staff, and I congratulate you on finally finishing it. Hopefully, the rest of the NG community will love it as much as I do.



AudioStarAudioStar

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 28, 2011

Perfect!

WOW! Just as you say, this is unique, i've never seen something like this in Newgrounds! Congratulations!

It would be REALLY awesome if you do a sequel, because this one was too short...
Abd if you make a sequel, it would be the doble hard work.

But still, i hope this get's to frontpage, because it deserves it.

5/5 10/10



BitBit

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 28, 2011

Well Done

The plot is attention-grabbing. Either character development or action is constantly happening at any given time to keep the viewer interested. The only flaw is that it's a bit on the short side. Although short, the constant action makes up for it.

The music was great. It clearly matched the video and was made the focus of the audio rather than the sound effects, with sound effects still being audible in a few key parts. The action in the visuals matched the audio well.

The graphics were terrific. The animation quality of this flash is among the best ever submitted to Newgrounds. All parts of the animation were smooth. There did not seem to be any animation errors. Character animation was amazing, Aquanna flowed like a body of water and Sparker blazed like a fire.

Overall, very well done. One of the best submissions in quite a while.



OmegasisOmegasis

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 28, 2011

wow nice movie

It was a little sad but the quality is awesome. The animation and special effects are amazing. I can tell that you put lot of work on it.