Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 28, 2011 | 9:54 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice June 28, 2011
  • Review Crew Pick June 28, 2011
  • Daily Feature June 29, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Working with the animation students at Brigham Young University has been a real treat. After much blood, sweat, and tears, we have finally completed Alight. We spent countless hours animating Sparker, the "fire boy," and Aquanna the "water girl," to get the effects and character animation looking just right. To us, they're almost real-life characters by now. We hope you enjoy this unique little piece of Flash animation, mixed with After Effects compositing.

For a higher-resolution version of the film, visit http://www.keyserhouse.co m/alight.

Reviews


MissLx4MissLx4

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 4, 2011

Beautiful, but lacking.

There's no doubt that the animation itself of this piece was beautiful, but I felt as if the story was lacking. The water girl and fire boy only interact for a few seconds, yet the boy does all he can to destroy the monster who killed her. There needs to be something there to show that the two beings are close to each other and that they've been together through tough times and that they made each other happy, which would then absolutely qualify the boy to risk his own life for the girl. 7/10 stars.


People find this review helpful!

loly27loly27

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 4, 2011

MUST WATCH!!!!!

this was amazing, cute, and sad. This is my favorite thing to watch on newgrounds. i watch it every day. I love it! I will miss fireboy and watergirl both. It would be great if they had more videos of these two cute charecters.


People find this review helpful!

KillerboyoKillerboyo

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 4, 2011

Animation + Story = Epic

Enough said.



killll11111killll11111

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 4, 2011

amazing

this short was beuteful at first but when the man was created, wtf!



seadog1seadog1

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 4, 2011

alrighty then

my first two reviews on this flash were deleted, so ill cut right to the cheese here.
the reason for my negative outings came forth out of pure hatred towards the
producer who selfishly created this master piece of modern flash art that were supposed to contain story.
but, however, there really wasnt a story, it was quite random and at times i felt like i was watching a George Lucas film that was meant to be both truthfull and hatefull
making you think about some of the other perspectives of life, life and death, jedi and sith, baboons and poo.
but this video compleetly seemed to destroy everything you stand for including the third amendement of bearing arms and such.
I promised myself on the grave of my friend that I woulndt let that happen, wich threw me in an epic aadventure only to learn that that what I was looking for was in myself all along.

therefore ill hand you a perfect 11 minus 2, so people wont rate me down