Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 15, 2011 | 12:26 PM EDT
  • Daily 4th Place June 16, 2011
  • Weekly 4th Place June 21, 2011

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Full Title: "It's A Mad World, Charlie Brown"

After being kicked from his baseball team Charlie Brown struggles to maintain his sanity.

Note: Don't forgot to check out the extras for more back-story.
+ Small Easter Egg in the art gallery

Also on YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/wa tch?v=1XzhIlQAEpU

Reviews


fa2mannfa2mann

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 15, 2011

it looks..

slolid and very profesional. Great i enjoyed it. who doen't know this cartoon. Snoopy is still my all time favourite.

btw. Did you by any means watched the movie 'Donnie Darko'? hehe because i never heard the sad song except in that movie. maybe you did to. The main character of that film was as psycho as this little guy. coincidence?


People find this review helpful!
NEXTVIEW-Designs responds:

Yup, love the movie, love the soundtrack. Thanks for the review!


marioman102594marioman102594

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 15, 2011

wait a minute... this is 15 MB

It wouldn't even let me upload a 10.1 MB vid... awesome though



GungaDGungaD

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 15, 2011

Nicely, Nicely Done.

Overall, a nicely done project. Well drawn and animated; I think the animation quality may be better than some of the old television programs. The voice acting was in good-excellent territory. Charlie Brown's voice didn't seem quite right, and the accent seems to have changed a bit during the course of the flash.

I'm not sure that putting this flash under "comedy" was the right choice. Parody, I can give you. And you did a great job in sticking with the context of the original characters, and then skewering them slightly by amplifying their personality flaws. What worked best for me is that you painted Lucy in a bit more sympathetic light and attempted to give some context to her bullying of Charlie Brown. That makes her fate a bit more sypathetic, a tragic meeting between two souls under different forms of torture. I didn't see the story so much as CB trying to maintain his sanity, as much as trying to escape the constant failure and bullying.

Given the Judeo-Christian overtones of the comic strips, I liked that you turned that part of the mythology around to demonstrate how it could both oppress and liberate CB from his torment. A larger metaphor made apparent is the Charles Schultz/God connection. Schultz kept his creation, Charlie Brown, a victim of bad luck, failure, and bullying for nearly 50 years. Is God, as depicted in the strips and your flash, equivalent to Schultz, and if so, what do your comments on God really say about Schultz at the artist? And what does Schultz's treatment of his creation say about God in our culture? There's a stronger statement about God in the western world there, but I doubt most readers of this review want a dissertation on it.

The story did seem to drag on a bit, especially at the beginning. There wasn't enough mood establishment to justify a slow simmer up to the climax.

The inclusion of the extras was a great touch. This liberated you from having to drag down the main story with back story.

A really good effort. You certainly didn't phone it in with this flash. With some minor tweaking I suspect the second part will be near perfect.


NEXTVIEW-Designs responds:

True this isn't much of a comedy and even the term parody has comedic connotations that don't really apply. Yea, I think I'll move this over to drama. You're right about me trying to make Lucy more sympathetic by including the scene involving her unrequited love for Schroeder. Unrequited love was actually a pretty prevalent theme throughout the strips and specials, with many other characters experiencing it. I'm aiming to highlight this more in the sequel.

Regarding the religious element, it's a bit more toned down that what was written in the original script, but I'm glad people are still able to pick up on it. I've got a good plot device in mind for the 2nd part that should alleviate the slow pacing issues, but that remains to be seen. I appreciate the insightful review, thank you.


BitBit

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 15, 2011

Great

It's well animated and has a good plot. The scene where the strange creatures and the eye appear are a huge twist in both the apparent atmosphere of the flash as well as a temporary change in art style which serves to foreshadow that something is wrong with Charlie Brown. Good use of animation style change to signal a disturbance in the apparently serene world this takes place in.


NEXTVIEW-Designs responds:

Thanks, the climax doesn't occur until the very end so I put that scene in there early to pique the interest of the audience. Glad to learn the foreshadowing was effective.


AOsingerAOsinger

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 15, 2011

absolutely mavelous

spectacular, i almost started laughing when charlie brown's face looked evil