Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 9, 2011 | 1:47 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place June 10, 2011
  • Weekly 4th Place June 14, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Thanks to everyone who helped me make this possible! Namely Ty Bucek, Jeff Lupetin, Kevin Czarnecki and Katelyn Foley. Without you guys there is no way this would have been nearly as good as it is!

This is my submission for the Tournament of Flash Animators (TOFA) 2011 First Round. The theme was "Lost and Found". I decided to go with a stylized Noire not only because it fits the theme so well, but because I've been wanting to do something involving detectives ever since I finished watching Twin Peaks, and just recently beating L.A. Noire certainly helped fuel that some more.

This is my first animation working with professional voice actors and not lending a voice myself. You may all know Kevin Czarnecki here on Newgrounds, his name seems to get around alot. He is one of my friends from College and was happy to lend a hand, he also found Katelyn Foley for me, who had just the most perfect voice for this! Jeff Lupetin is a veteran when it comes to voice acting, he's starred in Radio Dramas and video games (like "Red Faction" and more cult notably, Hideo Kojima's "Snatcher".) Ironically, I met Jeff and Kevin in the same place, as Jeff was my Voice Acting for Animation teacher.

Hope you enjoy!

Reviews


xyuliexyulie

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 10, 2011

i wish this was ongoing.

i like the concept and characters. even if you don't win the final round, you should keep this flash going. Get more authentic with the music (the credits sounded like a funk soundtrack to a 70's cop drama) and noire feel and you got yourself a hit series



GuassManGuassMan

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 20, 2011

Inspiration?

Did cowboy bepop inspire this by any chance??


DaveBruno responds:

Actually no! I know alot of people on here have been saying that, but surprisingly enough I've only seen one episode of Cowboy Bebop (and the movie) back when I was like.... 17? Or something? I never actually watched the whole show. However, I do know that Cowboy Bebop in a way is a Sci-Fi Noire, so if the Noire genre reminds you of Cowboy Bebop that would be why. Its not that I don't like Cowboy Bebop, I just... haven't gotten around to it lol. (that and I kind of grew out of anime a few years ago.)


thekidtonythekidtony

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 16, 2011

awesome

great work! really liked it you should do more work like this.



LtPuNiShErLtPuNiShEr

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 13, 2011

Fantastic

This was a great short film that managed to tell a good story in its short but decent timeline. I found this style of flash a lot like the movie Sin City with the color and concept except no yellow blood of course lol. Nothing short of awesome work so keep it up!


People find this review helpful!

pbcollegeboundpbcollegebound

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 13, 2011

AMAZIN

This is definitely goin in my favs. I loved this short. I was a great homage to the old Noire films and everything was done beautifully. Hopefully, you pursue this and make a series out of it because I would love to see more advantages with this character.