Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 9, 2011 | 1:47 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place June 10, 2011
  • Weekly 4th Place June 14, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Thanks to everyone who helped me make this possible! Namely Ty Bucek, Jeff Lupetin, Kevin Czarnecki and Katelyn Foley. Without you guys there is no way this would have been nearly as good as it is!

This is my submission for the Tournament of Flash Animators (TOFA) 2011 First Round. The theme was "Lost and Found". I decided to go with a stylized Noire not only because it fits the theme so well, but because I've been wanting to do something involving detectives ever since I finished watching Twin Peaks, and just recently beating L.A. Noire certainly helped fuel that some more.

This is my first animation working with professional voice actors and not lending a voice myself. You may all know Kevin Czarnecki here on Newgrounds, his name seems to get around alot. He is one of my friends from College and was happy to lend a hand, he also found Katelyn Foley for me, who had just the most perfect voice for this! Jeff Lupetin is a veteran when it comes to voice acting, he's starred in Radio Dramas and video games (like "Red Faction" and more cult notably, Hideo Kojima's "Snatcher".) Ironically, I met Jeff and Kevin in the same place, as Jeff was my Voice Acting for Animation teacher.

Hope you enjoy!

Reviews


HarlequindeRustreHarlequindeRustre

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars August 7, 2011

Geez

The whole short was nice, but the beginning was pretty rocky, especially with the really crappy voice acting on Katelyn's part. Perfect voice or not, she's not good at acting. The rest was okay, though the job for the Don bit pretty big, too.

The animation is good, if a tad grainy, and the story's plot development fit nicely into the alotted time. Nice work and good ending, I say.

Just try to get your VAs to practice their parts more next time. Please.



CheddarBirdCheddarBird

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 5, 2011

love it

Ive watched this 5 times now! 10/10 5/5



xyuliexyulie

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 10, 2011

i wish this was ongoing.

i like the concept and characters. even if you don't win the final round, you should keep this flash going. Get more authentic with the music (the credits sounded like a funk soundtrack to a 70's cop drama) and noire feel and you got yourself a hit series



DuahansDuahans

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 10, 2011

Great Work

Original story, and "good" animation, and very entertaining. Dialogs sounded natural, smooth, and pretty clever. I really enjoyed the ending, since it's so simple you don't see it coming. Some people try to make their story so complicated and with so many plot twits that just becomes a big mess. Keep it simple, runs natural, keep it coming :D! YOU SCORE A 10!



RyallenRyallen

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 9, 2011

What a twist!

This detective is diffrent from the others, because he isn't clever, or book smart on any way. But he's a good fighter, a great shot, and knows his way around the street gangs like the back of his hand. Is there a reason for that? Or has he been doing this long enough to know all the kingpins in the city? we may never know. :D A good flash all around.


People find this review helpful!