Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 9, 2011 | 1:47 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place June 10, 2011
  • Weekly 4th Place June 14, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Thanks to everyone who helped me make this possible! Namely Ty Bucek, Jeff Lupetin, Kevin Czarnecki and Katelyn Foley. Without you guys there is no way this would have been nearly as good as it is!

This is my submission for the Tournament of Flash Animators (TOFA) 2011 First Round. The theme was "Lost and Found". I decided to go with a stylized Noire not only because it fits the theme so well, but because I've been wanting to do something involving detectives ever since I finished watching Twin Peaks, and just recently beating L.A. Noire certainly helped fuel that some more.

This is my first animation working with professional voice actors and not lending a voice myself. You may all know Kevin Czarnecki here on Newgrounds, his name seems to get around alot. He is one of my friends from College and was happy to lend a hand, he also found Katelyn Foley for me, who had just the most perfect voice for this! Jeff Lupetin is a veteran when it comes to voice acting, he's starred in Radio Dramas and video games (like "Red Faction" and more cult notably, Hideo Kojima's "Snatcher".) Ironically, I met Jeff and Kevin in the same place, as Jeff was my Voice Acting for Animation teacher.

Hope you enjoy!

Reviews


DutchinLiveDutchinLive

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 11, 2011

Very Nice

Really enjoyed it, the end didn't really tie it for me though. Why would she throw him the gun when he's clearly conscious and able to use it. Other than that, superb effort, Love the colours.



EbonyteEbonyte

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 11, 2011

Front Page!

That's my boy! I'm damn proud top be a part of this. It was a complete pleasure!


People find this review helpful!

mouse245mouse245

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 11, 2011

good but theres no really detective work

its good, but it doesnt really show his detective skill, just him muscling info out -_-
what i got confused is....who does that heart jewel belongs to in the first place? the girl?
so vinny and the girl makes plan to get rid of the boss and the detective to get the jewel that they already had in the first place?...huh? did i miss something?
the voice character really complement the story mood & animation, i just wish it was longer and makes sense.
the ending is the most epic through all the story and a really good close up, ...but maybe i just wish the girl would shoot vinny and the detective would shoot the girl ^^
this has an amazing prospect and i hope to see more of it ^^


DaveBruno responds:

Seems like you missed a few things. It IS the girl's (Gigi's) Ruby, she says at one point she "Lost her Ruby Heart her Mother gave her". The Ruby missing was a lie to get the Detective (Vic) to think he was helping Gigi out. She never lost it, she just gave it to Mackey so that Vic would follow the breadcrumbs and take out the Don Boss and the Drug Dealer, who were the two heads of the mob. Now that they are gone, Mackey now is the leader.

Basically Mackey used Vic as a pawn to take out the Don and the Dealer, then double crossed him when he least expected it so that Vic would stop thwarting their plans.

Thats true there was no real detective work other than the fact that he figured that if it was lost in the Warehouse District then the Mob may have been involved lol but I only had 2 weeks to animate it, so if I spent any more time on him figuring things out I wouldve missed the deadline lol.


AlmightyHansAlmightyHans

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 10, 2011

That was real swell.

Seriously, very VERY good story. very well done. I think the color play didn't always quite work. Interesting idea though. I think it's very well done, very well acted. Maybe one or two lines i think could have been delivered a bit better. But the one main thing it didn't have going for it was the pacing. I think all the pieces were there, but you didn't hang enough on certain moments and you rushed some other jus a tad.

But i really like this piece it was freaking awesome. the simplicity of the story and visuals worked well with each other. congrats!


People find this review helpful!

One111One111

Rated 3 / 5 stars June 10, 2011

5/5 for animation and voice, 1/5 for story

The animation was good and I appreciate all the hard work you put into making this BUT there are so many cliches in the story and script i found myself saying the words before they came and predicting every next scene.

So good efforts all around but the story could use work.

Good luck in future projects :)