Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 9, 2011 | 1:47 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place June 10, 2011
  • Weekly 4th Place June 14, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Thanks to everyone who helped me make this possible! Namely Ty Bucek, Jeff Lupetin, Kevin Czarnecki and Katelyn Foley. Without you guys there is no way this would have been nearly as good as it is!

This is my submission for the Tournament of Flash Animators (TOFA) 2011 First Round. The theme was "Lost and Found". I decided to go with a stylized Noire not only because it fits the theme so well, but because I've been wanting to do something involving detectives ever since I finished watching Twin Peaks, and just recently beating L.A. Noire certainly helped fuel that some more.

This is my first animation working with professional voice actors and not lending a voice myself. You may all know Kevin Czarnecki here on Newgrounds, his name seems to get around alot. He is one of my friends from College and was happy to lend a hand, he also found Katelyn Foley for me, who had just the most perfect voice for this! Jeff Lupetin is a veteran when it comes to voice acting, he's starred in Radio Dramas and video games (like "Red Faction" and more cult notably, Hideo Kojima's "Snatcher".) Ironically, I met Jeff and Kevin in the same place, as Jeff was my Voice Acting for Animation teacher.

Hope you enjoy!

Reviews


megalionmegalion

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 13, 2011

epic

it really made me feel like watching a movie from the noir time.The voices were amazing,but Ace's was the best.
Overall 10/10 5/5

p.s happyhobo123: it was "brains might beat brawns, but hot lead sure as hell beats brains"


People find this review helpful!

happyhobo123happyhobo123

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 13, 2011

oh my god

that was awesome i liked the color it really added to the noire feel of it and how it seemed like it took place in the 30's was cool i like the ending line
" brains might beet bronze but a hot piece of led sure as hell beats brains"
lol awesome



ut2k4wikichiciut2k4wikichici

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 12, 2011

Better than LA Noire

Unlike LAN this had a great ending.

Pfft and R* and Bondi thought they where onto something special.

5/5



BASTEHBASTEH

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 12, 2011

it had boobs, nuff said

it had boobs, nuff said



NelorzoulNelorzoul

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 12, 2011

Great!, but one unfortunate shortcoming

I don't have time at the moment to write a full review so I'll just write the one thing that peeved me before I forget and leave you with a 10.

Vick Ace's voice actor was incredible. Fantastic. Unfortunately the other voice actor's couldn't keep themselves on the same level as him. The lack of equal quality recording equipment between the cast detracted from the experience - it seemed as if Vick Aces' voice actor was the only one with a setup capable of delivering a performance worthy of the animation. The worst, unfortunately, by far had to be Gigi's voice actress - the background noise of the microphone was the first thing I noticed about her voice acting. Having to hear that made the initial back-and-forth conversation between Gigi and Vick in the beginning next to unbearable.

That being said? Fantastic flash. It was interesting right up until the end and I feel it kept true to the noir theme. Very well done.


People find this review helpful!