Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 6, 2011 | 2:16 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature June 7, 2011
  • Weekly 2nd Place June 7, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Update:
Hey, everyone. I've changed my online username. I am no longer JonBro, and I won't be continuing anything that was made with the JonBro name. If you want to see an archive of my older work as well as what I'm up to now, you can find out here: http://www.jonochrome.com
_____________________________________
Riddle Transfer 2 has been officially cancelled since July 2012.

I'm sorry to say I will not make any more Riddle School games and that I've moved on.

Read here to find out why:
http://jonbro.newgrounds.com/news/post/732398

Thanks for all the support for these games over the years, everyone.
----------
Walkthrough:
http://www.jonochrome.com/walkthroughs/walkthroughriddletransfer.html

Reviews


Neophyte-RoninNeophyte-Ronin

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 6, 2011

Transferring Mind-Numbing Riddles to the Masses

If there is a kind of adventure game I naturally despise, it has to be the point-and-click. Ever since "Escape from Monkey Island" debuted with its irresistible charm and humor, every code-sucking schmuck has attempted to duplicate or even surpass it. In Adobe Flash, the tools and design materials provided for developers grant practically everyone with a basic understanding of coding to create their own point-and-click adventure games. A lot of them are not very good. In fact, only a few avoid being utterly deplorable. So, what does JonBro's latest adventure game, "Riddle Transfer", have above the relentless horde?

Well, for those who followed his previous "Riddle" series, "Riddle School", know that this is technically the sixth game released... yes, that's quite true. People who haven't played the fifth game might be a little confused in the beginning, wondering where these kids came from and why they befriended a gray, but therein lies the trap with writing a story that connects each game together: newcomers are leery of playing a series that started well before they decided to play a recent sequel. Other games, like Final Fantasy, Avernum, and the Legend of Zelda do not share this limitation, which is probably a key behind their success stories. Even so, JonBro sets the "Transfer" series in a new setting, derives the best game elements from previous episodes from the "School" series, and gives all players the chance to experience a new story that does not really require a background in the other games.

"Transfer" picks up where "School 5" left off: victorious over the sinister, despotic gray physicist Viz, Phil Eggtree and his friends are returning to earth. However, a sinister agency based in "Zone 5.1" manages to ensnare their transport and imprison each kid inside the facility. Phil must help his associates escape this dungeon and find a way to preserve the secrets behind their mission in deep space, lest any corrupt or unthinking interests apply that knowledge.

First thing off the bat: "Transfer" is bigger than any of the previous "Riddle School" games. It is filled with nerve-wracking puzzles, gallons of clean wit, and pokes fun at a number of cryptid lifeforms. It even includes a cameo from NG user Goat-Man's titular character. The soundtrack is a bottomless pit, all derived from the Audio Portal, and the feel of the game is far sleeker than most graphic adventure titles. The game should keep you around for at least one hour, perhaps more if you're not perusing a walk-through or cheating in some fashion. Production values and overall presentation are top-notch.

The problems should be obvious. Although it doesn't affect the game directly, needing some familiarity with previous "Riddle School" games might affect someone's desire to play it now. And if they play it after going through the other games first, they might be exhausted or their collected experience will affect their impressions about this game. Depending on their take on Graphic Point-and-Click Adventures, that might be an unsavory one.

The Puzzles come in at a close second. The real issue is their inconsistent difficulty ratings: some are too simple, while others are just mind-numbingly frustrating. It takes a great deal of investigating before you stumble upon a new key item and, like many graphic adventures, they operate by their own seeming logic, with few hints between. "Riddle Transfer" isn't just the hardest "Riddle" game out there. It's one of the hardest point-and-click games out there, period. Ordinarily, I would imagine the puzzles get harder in a linear fashion, but being an open-ended adventure, JonBro probably could not pace the game accordingly. That, above everything, is one of the reasons why I shy from point-and-click games: the solutions often serve to frustrate the player beyond hope. I want to be challenged, true... but I also want to WIN!

"Riddle Transfer" took half a year to produce. Let's hope the next one takes less time to address the faults of the first one. It's too promising a series not to.


People find this review helpful!
JonBro responds:

I give my respect to you for the time you put in this review. Your complete honesty is very constructive!

It is certainly true that I started this off in a strange manner that probably didn't pay enough mind to people who haven't seen the other games. And even after having revised the intro several times, I guess I still made that large oversight. But as this is the first game in the series and the only one with a real reason for this kind of problem to exist, I'm afraid there's probably not much I can do for the future games in this regard. I shall try my best anyway.

I was worried about the puzzles in this game. While I never intended the design for this game to be incredibly difficult, I do acknowledge that some of the puzzles could have definitely been better hinted-at, and it was disheartening even for me when I realized my ideas for this could only properly be put together if the grass puzzle was one of the earlier ones. I tried to make up for this by not making the game completely linear, allowing you to perform easier puzzles as you went along, yet it still ended up being inconsistent. So I will also think harder about this in the sequel's design.

Thank you for your criticism. And of course, thanks for all the positive comments, too. This whole review was very enlightening.


nooj12nooj12

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 6, 2011

love it

I love the game it is as good if not better then the others, but i cannot figure out what Snoz has to do with the dial pad code lol



HulalaooHulalaoo

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 6, 2011

why the negro is only a helper ?

men, this game is so rasist


JonBro responds:

He's the main character's best friend!

But yes, thank you Hulalaoo. Your comments make me smile.


cousteaucousteau

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 6, 2011

A very interesting beginning of a new series

So you weren't going to do any continuation of the Riddle School series? Shame on you!
Haha, just kidding. This looks interesting, the game was pretty fun. It's good you've started a new saga (it kinda doesn't break the promise of "not doing another Riddle School game", since it's a different series with a different theme). If all games on the series are going to be similar to this one, it'll be a very memorable one (both story- and game-wise). Kudos for the good work!

The only thing I didn't like is that the only thing there is on the right-click menu is a "no cheating" message. What if I want to change the quality? My computer was kinda amazing when I bought it, 5 years ago, but now it's no Deep Thought at all...

P.S.: What about Riddle School 7? Are you going to make a Riddle School 7? You only claimed you weren't going to do an RS6... [trollface]


People find this review helpful!
JonBro responds:

I see what you did thar and I DON'T LIKE IT

But I do like your review. Thank you very much :D


JoeDanWJoeDanW

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 6, 2011

DUUUUUUDE!

Freakin epic game! Just like the rest of your series, which I have played back to back several times, this does not disappoint. Can't wait to see future works of yours!


People find this review helpful!