Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 1, 2011 | 10:58 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place June 2, 2011
  • Weekly 3rd Place June 7, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Written, Directed, and Animated by DAN BERRY

Sound Design by JAMES SCULLION

Music: 'RIDE' Written by COURTNEY TAYLOR-TAYLOR
Performed by THE DANDY WARHOLS
Courtesy of THE DANDY WARHOLS by arrangement with COURTNEY TAYLOR-TAYLOR

Senior Animation Film at Savannah College of Art and Design, an animated teaser trailer for an upcoming graphic novel VERDACOMB, created by DAN BERRY

Due to the file size of my film I exported the FLV at medium quality.
For a more high quality viewing:
http://vimeo.com/24497775 or http://youtu.be/67GnSaBVr MI

Thanks for front page Tom :D

Reviews


vercetti300vercetti300

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 4, 2011

Ending

I wanted better ending.


danomano65 responds:

Well this is an animated teaser trailer for my graphic novel 'series' so the end of this film is really the beginning of the story I'm invested in. I wanted to reserve the real story. Some of the scenes are modified for short film purposes since this was my senior project and the story needed to be simplified. The graphic novel is much more complex than what is presented.


ManiaGuyManiaGuy

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 4, 2011

Fanfuckingtastic!

I love the aanimation on this!
Everything is smooth and I love where the story is going.
I do ask, is there going to be a series/
10/10
5/5


danomano65 responds:

Probably a webcomic at first most likely, until I have enough to print!


Sumbody69Sumbody69

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 4, 2011

Pretty badass

I loved the art style and the story that unfolded in a matter of a min or so. Please keep this verdacomb stuff up to date



shaddow-parasiteshaddow-parasite

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 4, 2011

true grit

the grittyness makes the flashbacks more like a memory, not like it is happening now. but it looks good, can't wait for the finished product.
(gets in line)



ErichoEricho

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 3, 2011

Now that's weird

This was a cool caroton even if I had no idea what was going on. The only thing I did not like was that the image resolution seemed way off. At least you still worked on an amazing trailer with a very original premise to it. I thought you were saying the names of video games at the beginning with "Grand Theft Auto". Gee, I guess I've heard about so many video games, I didn't even know that phrase had another meaning. The most visually pleasing thing is easily the orange thing.

I suppose that is supposed to be the "Verdacomb"? Most people just assume that the main character or thing in a work has the name of the title. This definitley seems like something that belongs at an art festival. I congradulate you on your success and can not wait for the whole thing to come out. The main character seems nice enough.


danomano65 responds:

I had to lower the image resolution for NG only because of the 20mb limit. Otherwise the film is highest on my vimeo and YouTube. You can see the links in the authors comments above. As for the "Verdacomb" I'll only hint that it is the name of the society. The infrastructure and government and rituals are the Verdacomb. The orange thing is called an Orb Suit. Used in the game you see in the arena. There are four nations and each attempts to capture the middle white pillar in their corner. :)