Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 23, 2011 | 11:42 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 24, 2011
  • Weekly 5th Place May 24, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

DISCLAIMER:
This game is large in size and may take a while to load. It also uses a lot of processing power and is recommended that you play it on a computer with 1-2 gig of ram and a decent CPU.

THE GAME:
Battle for Wayland Keep is a prelude to the upcoming game "Ortus", which has been in development for almost a year. This 'minigame' (Battle for Wayland Keep) was put together to give players a sample of the history of the world in Ortus, and a 'tip-of-the-iceberg' sample of some of the game mechanics we have been building for Ortus.

CONTROLS/TIPS:
-Mouse to move/select abilities
-WASD/arrows to control the camera
-SPACE BAR to toggle PAUSE, you can issue commands while paused

If you are having issues with loading or bugs, please inform us so we can try and make your experience more enjoyable :)

Reviews


123edcx123edcx

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 13, 2011

stunning

this game was wonderfull. the action was tense and gritty, a little gory but im ok with that. The story that evolved through the conversations made me feel really atached to the charecters and i loved seeing them evolve overtime. i was genually sad when i was told of the deaths and was angry at an army that wasnt real for killing them, if i had to change anything about this game it would be one of the most basic units, the title. I think the add on bit of a prelude to ortus feels tacked on. like you came up with this great name and then with a sticky note atached the next bit. Dont get me wrong i loved this game and i cant wait to play the sequal but saying this games is a prelude didnt seam right. overall 10/10 great job, hope your next game is just as good.


People find this review helpful!
Jazza responds:

while i vigorously accept the compliment, If you knew what 'Ortus' is you'd understand why we call BWK a prelude. We made BWK in 3 weeks from the back end tool's we've build for Ortus, to demonstrate a small portion of the games engine and early story setting. I'm honored you think of it so highly and grateful, but BWK is indeed a prelude, a VERY small introduction to the story and world and mechanics of Ortus which will be MUCH more vast and wonderful :)


EkistEkist

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 27, 2011

Good game Overall

Even though this game was fun it was still missing a lot of things. As a player of Newgrounds I only say this to Improve your upcoming game for a better experience. The Story within the game was good but the convos were really bad. If you want to make a per say decision making game you have to put more drama in your dialogue that way players feel pressured making a decision which makes it more fun doing so. Take a look at Mass Effect maybe that will help you. The combat although good needed more variety not in moves but in rewards. I love the direction your going but hopefully you could use the reviews here from the player of Newgrounds to make your upcoming game more succesful.


Jazza responds:

I know what you mean, and ortus will have a LOT of response and dialogue options, but since battle for wayland keep is a historical story in the world setting there's not many different response options we cn give to a character who is, in the game setting, written a specific way.


jonysjonys

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 28, 2011

a litel thing :D

this game is lagy if you ghot an old pc.. on may dell its works perfect :D like the story line and the gamplay :D

whe love you jazz never dye :D

ooo and how about you make game whit zombis ?



InvidiaRedInvidiaRed

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 23, 2011

Beautiful

art and everything

well done kudos



DaRkDraGoN9DaRkDraGoN9

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 27, 2011

Very good and Great quality

Loved the game. Great story, Great characters, Great dialog and really reminds me of playing Neverwinter Nights. I can't wait for more games like this its good to see something good on the front page for once. Keep up the great work :p