Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 23, 2011 | 11:42 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 24, 2011
  • Weekly 5th Place May 24, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

DISCLAIMER:
This game is large in size and may take a while to load. It also uses a lot of processing power and is recommended that you play it on a computer with 1-2 gig of ram and a decent CPU.

THE GAME:
Battle for Wayland Keep is a prelude to the upcoming game "Ortus", which has been in development for almost a year. This 'minigame' (Battle for Wayland Keep) was put together to give players a sample of the history of the world in Ortus, and a 'tip-of-the-iceberg' sample of some of the game mechanics we have been building for Ortus.

CONTROLS/TIPS:
-Mouse to move/select abilities
-WASD/arrows to control the camera
-SPACE BAR to toggle PAUSE, you can issue commands while paused

If you are having issues with loading or bugs, please inform us so we can try and make your experience more enjoyable :)

Reviews


DracMorairDracMorair

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 25, 2011

I'm going to take this is stride.

I'm going to concur and give full marks to all other reviews here. There is one point I mean to make here though and that is thinking of the systems that play your game. Anything that cant be upgraded without a minimal of cost is a detriment to the player. The top grossing of all time is Diablo2 and you know why that is? It's because it works on a 10 year old system. That being said, this game has less graphical demands then d2 does and there are major major graphic issues here. I'm happy for those who have a system that can play it and that is fine. The reason I write reviews at all is to make a developer aware of an issue and regardless of the marks it recieves they will be a detriment to any future player as well if there not fixed. FYI i wasn't able to play due to the graphical standstill as well.


People find this review helpful!

nitemar3nitemar3

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 25, 2011

Great story, great game

Aside from the lag and other issues people had (it was slow at times for me, but not a huge deal), Battle for Wayland Keep really had me hooked with its story and character dialog.
The difficulty level started out easy enough, but eventually worked its way up to something of a challenge.
I would definitely play Ortus once it comes out; great job!


People find this review helpful!

flmewarriorflmewarrior

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 25, 2011

Impressive

This game's quality and voice acting is superb, the game flow is quite smooth. Yes, there are some lag and loading issues, but you had stated that in the Disclaimer portion. The gameplay itself is intriguing, looks like a mix between Baldur's Gate and Diablo, with how you gain new skills and have to point and click to move around. Making this a defensive/rpg game adds a new touch. Seeing as how quite a number of people contributed to the making of just the mini-game, it has me glued to my seat to see Ortus. Only reason this is a 9 and not a ten is because Elder Scrolls V has me glued to my seat more, and no, I no longer have fingernails with which to chew on, nor gum to chew. Overall, the mini-game is already impressive, can't wait for the actual release of Ortus.


People find this review helpful!

MarkmoonedgeMarkmoonedge

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 25, 2011

So Epic it Left me Speechless...

That being said. The complexity, unique need to really think of where to move and use your skills, the hordes of odds stack against you, and yet still having the ultimate tool to win the day... guts and smarts.

Learning when and where to use the various skills, toggle the pause button to scan the field, using those hero skills at the most needed times. Interaction with the npcs...

You truly made a revolutionizing game in my honest opinion. Playing this on the mac also... So I don't know why people are complaining... guess maybe they just are sore losers?

Still I look forward to those future development projects you're making. This game needs to be daily prize I strongly believe!

EPIC JUGGERNAUT KICKING ASS AND GETTING BOOTY!

Can't get better than that!



DaicosDaicos

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 25, 2011

Review thing of the game thing..

FIRST AND FOREMOST
A MESSAGE TO PEOPLE COMPLAINING ABOUT THE GAMEPLAY
I have seen many many people complaining that they have such a great computer but the game was just so graphic intensive that they could not play it. I could play it just fine, and to those haters out there on Mac's, I have one. This plays nice and smooth on a Mac, thus "obviously" it should be fine on Windows or what not. Secondly, if you haven't realised yet there IS a quality option if you right click.. Gosh some people are so inconsiderate.

NOW onto the game itself.
All in all this has been a FANTASTIC game. Honestly so far I have had no issues with it. It's been a great challenge defeating the waves and waves of enemies and siege weapons.
The ability were well and balanced, charge was a great starting ability as it completely wiped out those Breakers and the other abilities just made the game that much more enjoyable. Really I think the people that would enjoy this game the most are those who can look at the BIGGER PICTURE. If retarded people haven't read anything into this, it's just a freaking prelude, which honestly makes it all the better, to know that when Ortus does come out that we'll have so much to choose from, weapons, armour, abilities, looks. *jizz*

The graphics were fabulous, pleasing to the eye with Jouste's fantastic drawing skills and Miccool's special effects. The entire team has just been great! Of course we can't go by JAZZA here, as we see him to be much of the leader.

Guys this has been a great game, but make sure because of this game a lot of people are going to have some high expectations for Ortus, just make sure you deliver.
10/10 and 5/5 and favourite'd.
-Daicos


People find this review helpful!