Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 23, 2011 | 11:42 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 24, 2011
  • Weekly 5th Place May 24, 2011

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

DISCLAIMER:
This game is large in size and may take a while to load. It also uses a lot of processing power and is recommended that you play it on a computer with 1-2 gig of ram and a decent CPU.

THE GAME:
Battle for Wayland Keep is a prelude to the upcoming game "Ortus", which has been in development for almost a year. This 'minigame' (Battle for Wayland Keep) was put together to give players a sample of the history of the world in Ortus, and a 'tip-of-the-iceberg' sample of some of the game mechanics we have been building for Ortus.

CONTROLS/TIPS:
-Mouse to move/select abilities
-WASD/arrows to control the camera
-SPACE BAR to toggle PAUSE, you can issue commands while paused

If you are having issues with loading or bugs, please inform us so we can try and make your experience more enjoyable :)

Reviews


PunchBagPunchBag

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 29, 2011

I liked it a lot. But...

Lets make one thing clear. The game was superb and made of awesome on a level that you don't see in many games you need to pay for today. For that, I salute you and your team. I enjoyed the gameplay, the story and the characters greatly. Some of them were much more fleshed out than the others, but that's a problem you can't really avoid. Still, like some have said, it would be nice to see them have more effect on game. Maybe add a little epilogue for each of them at the end?

I also really liked the new concept of defense game, one where you only have a single unit, but make it mobile and upgrade it as the game progresses. Makes the game quite different and more interesting.

Now, to the problems. First of all, the game is easy. Too easy, really. I haven't tested the survival yet and probably won't, on the basis that I loathe the game where I can't win because the rules say so. But, the story mode can be won without dying in a single try. As Caesar already said, divide et impera. Argus may be the one and only, but he has power enough to erase everything thrown at him and then some. Once you figure out the fact that half of his powers stun enemies, the hardest battle can be won without a sweat. Reapers, catapults, rams and even Lord of War himself are mown down by Argus in moments with this tactic. Stun them, buff yourself with Resolve and blow them away. If the stun wears out, use another or wait for the last one to become avaible again. The second time I played the game I did this, won the game with using Heroic abilities two times in the entire game and finished the game with 300+ upgrade points to spare. In short, stun the powerful enemies, area of effect the weak ones. Charge works wonders against breakers and Fireball is effective against pretty much everything else.

Now granted, you couldn't do much without making life too hard for Argus and the player, so this problem can be overlooked, but it still vexes me some. Maybe give Argus a tree of abilities and make him choose which ones he wants? For a right price in upgrade points, that is. That way, the player could choose to have more damaging abilities, but less battlefield control or vice versa, each with it's benefits and drawbacks. I think that would make the game more interesting and challenging.

The second problem is more cosmetic than anything else and even that is probably to be blamed on my laptop more than anything else. I found the voice acting very quiet. When I put on headphones, it becomes much better.

You say this is a prelude. In what sense? As in, story in Orthus will happen AFTER the battle for Wayland Keep has already passed and Argus has already dissapeared after his 100 years as triarch? Or just prelude in sense to see what gameplay in Orthus will look like? I am really interested in this one, so I would appreciate the answer, if you could give it.

The game also gives us no answer as to who or what Argus is. He himself doesn't know that and while the game gives us some indications and I have my suspicions, there is simply not enough to go by and make and educated guess. Will Orthus answer this question for me?

Last, I noticed you really like paladin or paladin like characters. Argus is pretty much as close to paladin as they come. This is not a complaint, I really like holy warriors myself. I just couldn't help myself but to notice.

All in all, this is a solid game, The complaints are minor and nothing to really make this a bad game, but they are enough for me to not give you those ten stars. You did however managed to pique my curiosity and when Orthus comes out, I'll be sure to check it and play it, which I suspect is what you wanted to achieve. I hope my curiosity will be sated then.


People find this review helpful!

pablo1998pablo1998

Rated 0.5 / 5 stars May 29, 2011

Dumb.

I dont like this game... THEY DEFEATED ME!!! >:U



theifofdreamstheifofdreams

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 29, 2011

This

Was really fun. Really really fun.
I did enjoy the background story, which added flavour to the time between major battles, but I do kind of wish that how you interacted with others has some overall lasting effect at the end of the game.


People find this review helpful!

Megamaniac457Megamaniac457

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 29, 2011

A nice, big game to sink my teeth into. FINALLY

Since this is only a prequel and not the real thing, i may suggest that you change the mouse controls to keyboard controls for walking? Using the mouse for attacking and movement seems a bit clumsy. Other than that, good story, nice game mechanics, and now i am looking forward to Ortus.


People find this review helpful!

ledeasledeas

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 29, 2011

Epic gaming in a small package

I felt more involved with this game then I have with many of our table top RPG's. I agree with another person that the NPC's could stand to do a bit more. I got tired of talking to the 'weed' guy and next thing I knew...well...you know.

All in all, a Class A game all the way around.


People find this review helpful!