Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 23, 2011 | 11:42 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 24, 2011
  • Weekly 5th Place May 24, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

DISCLAIMER:
This game is large in size and may take a while to load. It also uses a lot of processing power and is recommended that you play it on a computer with 1-2 gig of ram and a decent CPU.

THE GAME:
Battle for Wayland Keep is a prelude to the upcoming game "Ortus", which has been in development for almost a year. This 'minigame' (Battle for Wayland Keep) was put together to give players a sample of the history of the world in Ortus, and a 'tip-of-the-iceberg' sample of some of the game mechanics we have been building for Ortus.

CONTROLS/TIPS:
-Mouse to move/select abilities
-WASD/arrows to control the camera
-SPACE BAR to toggle PAUSE, you can issue commands while paused

If you are having issues with loading or bugs, please inform us so we can try and make your experience more enjoyable :)

Reviews


frank55frank55

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars May 29, 2011

welll...

Nice Games but i dont like it :S maybe just not my kind of game haha



KaetherKaether

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 29, 2011

THE WHORE

Eliara <333

I really like how you can keep talking to the NPCs for more background and other nongame related options. I wish the guy growing the weeds didn't die though. He was sooo cool. and the whore too! On my second play through, it seemed like the whore was a lot more friendly since I picked certain dialogue options.

Though, I wish the scout from stayed longer.



kknotskknots

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 29, 2011

Programmer Tips

Hi, I really enjoyed the game.
I've noticed 2 things that might not be perfectly right about your game engine, though I'm not completely sure.
1) The camera scrolling is done with either arrow keys, WASD or by moving mouse to the edge of the screen. The problem is with the last thing. When the mouse is outside the window, camera's not scrolling. If you're using AS2 you can make a button over the entire screen with code in it:
on(rollOut){
_root.mouseOnScreen=false;
}
on(rollOver){
_root.mouseOnScreen=true;
}
//endcode
Initially mouseOnScreen should be false. If you have AS3, you should check if mouse position is outside of the window, and scroll the camera if that's so. I'm suspecting that this game is in AS3, because it can tell if I click outside of window.

2) I think I know why this is lagging. Upon examining the behavior of moving units closer, I've noticed that the game space is divided into little cells, and enemies are using what is called Pathfinding. That's bad for Flash, and not necessary at all. If all units are represented as circles, while some objects are rectangles, you won't need to divide the playing field into cells (meaning a unit's X pos can be 1.039 or smth), and you could apply a "sliding" algorithm for circle-units (involving maths). Pathfinding is needed only when there are obstacles on the ground, that need to be walked around. Blizzard's Wc3, for instance, ignores pathing of moving units. Screw cells.

I didn't notice any bugs, but I'm not feeling convenient about scrolling the camera with mouse, and I'd suggest you add mana points (!) AND A description for each of abilities when cursor is hovered over them, showing what it does, the duration of effect and cooldown. Can't say much else, 'cuz im just a retard lazy windbag.


People find this review helpful!

airfartairfart

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 29, 2011

great game

although i wonder if im the only one who noticed that the main character looks an awful lot like jazza....



scottieadkflascottieadkfla

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 29, 2011

its good

only problem is why dont you change the controlls, make it were you walk with WASD. and have a camera that follows you. other than that stuff the game is awsome


People find this review helpful!