Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 18, 2011 | 12:02 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place May 19, 2011
  • Weekly 2nd Place May 24, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Big Meanie 5 Points Defeat Big Blue the Meanie
First Craft 5 Points Craft your first item
First Kill 5 Points Kill your first enemy.
Reach Town 10 Points Finally reach the town of Astaea's Bastion.
Gate of Oceanus 25 Points Unlock the Gate of Oceanus
Defeat Vulcan 50 Points Rid the world of the evil beast, Vulcan
Mega Sword 50 Points Craft the Razor Sword

Author Comments

Castaway 2 takes the very popular, award winning Castaway game to a whole new level! Stranded on a mysterious island, it is up to you to find a way off. Embark on a journey that takes you through vast terrains and unique environments, completing quests and battling huge bosses. Train pets, as they fight by your side using their unique skills and abilities. Discover and unlock rare items and equipment, using the brand new crafting system.

We have listened carefully to the community, and have taken their suggestions from Castaway 1 very seriously. Here are just a few of the features in Castaway 2:

- larger (over 100 different levels!)
- fast (steady 30 fps)
- prettier (amazing, polished graphics)
- more monsters/pets
- skill points to model your character the way you want
- bosses/mini-bosses
- a new crafting system with almost 100 different crafting combinations to discover
- epic armor/weapons
- 15+ spells
- beautiful custom composed music
- nearly 100 different quests
- auto-save system
- hours of fun and re-playability

We are also very involved in providing updates based on user feedback. The game has been released, site locked on our site for a few weeks and have released several updates since then. We appreciate your feedback, and hope you enjoy the game.

* The Premium Pack is simply bonus content, and does not effect the end-game or story line, so please do not base your rating on this.

Reviews


GreatBigFishGreatBigFish

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars May 21, 2011

Ok.

Alright, this is a solid game. I've been playing it for a good while (maybe 4 or 5 hours), and the fact that I've kept going is a good sign. Overall it's a fun time. But there are some really irritating flaws, mostly cropping up at later points in the game.

First off, make a more detailed map. Like other users pointed out, it's a BIG pain in the ass trying to figure out where you're going, and occasionally it turns out you're running in circles or in the wrong area completely. That type of thing is very annoying and could be easily avoided.

Second, I've only played through this game once so I have tested out different ways to organize your stats, but I poured into agility and magic while upgrading my lightning spells first. This sets you up for an automatic win against virtually every boss you meet - all it takes is a thunder dome and maaaybe a lightning strike to completely annihilate whatever boss is in question.

Another issue with the magic: I found the fire sprite spell is completely useless. I thought the sprites would attack the entire screen, which would make sense since the other level 3 spells affect a wide area as well, but they require you to basically run into your enemies at a huge risk of self-harm for a tiny damage off. Also, a minor glitch - I died in the same room as I did when I upgraded my fire sprites and used them for the first time, and when I respawned one of them was still around (though eventually went away). In yet another fire-related issue, I found the fireball would pass directly through enemies which would likely cause me to get hit. It's really a luck of the draw situation using that spell, so often I just didn't use it all. Freezing or stunning enemies wouldn't help either.

Another big issue for me was the lack of smoothness of the ice world. At this point the game was hard enough that I felt I should only have to worry about the monsters, but the ice movements are jerky as fuck and resulted in MANY deaths for me in that area, despite the crazy strength of the lightning spells mentioned above. This was mainly the thing that made want to stop playing the most - I feel like the difficulty takes a big leap up and should be kind of smoothed out. Another glitch here as well - it's hard to tell exactly where it happens, but sometimes when walking back on solid land from the ice, my pet (I kept the initial loomis) would tightly follow me, and I would move very very slowly until I walked on ice again, when the loomis would 'unstick' and I would be able to walk at normal speed. Really, the icy areas were hard enough without having to deal with stuff like that.

Also, the sheer amount of gold you get by the ice stage is kind of nuts. It's not really a complaint, but there's nothing to use all that gold on once you buy all the toughest armour and your agility is high enough. I'd recommend having stronger items available for sale at later points in the game, or maybe even have gems shards available at a reasonably high price, since it could be really frustrating trying to find them in the wild when you needed them to complete a crafting quest.

I hope I don't come off like hating on your game. Like I said, I enjoyed it, and I'll probably finish it now that I've made it this far. Hopefully you can improve on the points mentioned above and turn a pretty good game into a fantastic one. Cheers.


People find this review helpful!

YooCooperYooCooper

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 21, 2011

magic is OP

i just go around and 1 shot creatures 2 levels above me with lightning...
plus you can put a firewall on bosses and it just melts them and all their spawns...



PampiertjePampiertje

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 21, 2011

lost

I love the game. But i got lost. I have been playing for two houres, jus walking aroudn. I even draw a map on paper, but it was too complicated. There were gates which i couldn't pass. An example that i needed a town key. No idea where to get one of those.
Anyway, i didn't finish the game because of this, while it's great game. Maybe you should make a real map, so that people can find there way. Or a place where one of the fairy kind of things is talking, that it explains you what you have to do.



GamikGamik

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 21, 2011

Epic Win!

I played CA 1 before, i know it will be good.



jackywongjackywong

Rated 3 / 5 stars May 21, 2011

What!!

it is too easy to die in the game...
defense of the player is like nothing and the monster easily make a critical hit. My player in full health suddenly become 1 Hp after hitting bye the "ice" from the grandma shibi... how could i defeat that boss in such condition??

I hope this game will make more improvement in the future. It can be a great game...