Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 18, 2011 | 3:02 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice May 24, 2011
  • Daily Feature May 19, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

5/22/11-NEW ENDING ADDED

THIS IS A SATIRE. Captain Ig'nant represents the unfortunate hold of negative stereotypes placed upon the black community. I am black, most of the voices are black, and if you pass this off as "racist" and do attempt to understand the message, you are not doing any favor for the issues. This is meant to make people laugh yes but also point out the flaws in the current image of black America.

This is my animation for my junior thesis at the University of the Arts. And yes I got an 'A', haha, thank you Elliot Cowan.

Whenever a black person even THINKS about acting rationally, or dares to rise above stereotypes, your friendly hood-ass Captain Ignant is there to save the day! From African Americans getting shot for ridiculous reasons, to suburbanite black kids trying to be hood, Captain Ignant is there to keep black people the way they were "supposed" to be: IG'NANT!

Animated in Toon Boom Animate 2
Composited/Special Effects in Adobe After Effects CS5
Most voices recorded with Blue Yeti Microphone

Reviews


combine1657combine1657

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 19, 2011

Not bad

I just hate when people make comments that are paragraphs long and not really worth reading



Spodi89Spodi89

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 20, 2011

She got pregant....

HELL YEAH !!!!!!



MonefMonef

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 28, 2011

Haha

Bitten by a catfish, and got a watermelon as a logo......TOTAL BADASS!


People find this review helpful!

PotheadePotheade

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 24, 2011

agreed

n****r (which is a word, that i use properly) rappers tend to do this a lot. its fucked (also a word that i, as an adult, use as i please because im in america, the land of the free) up that some people actually act like their... ..heroes? it'd be nice if women didnt clutch their purses when a n****r (if youre wondering why i use this word, its mainly because n****rs get offended when i refer to them as black and african american is too long) walked by but they do. and for good reason. no, not because theyre bad people, and not because the n****r will mug them. its because n****rs on tv are presented in a manner as ...well...n***ardly (which is a word unrelated to the word n****r, look it up in any dictionary or encyclopedia) and thieving. and thats just annoying. n****rs need to stop making the niggish(?) community look bad; stop taking money to continue the idea that n****rs are ig'nant

im probably going to get flagged for saying fuck. it was a word choice, 3 christains were offended, i dont care, as it says on my dog tags, i have NOREL(IGIOUS)PREF(ERENCE)



reijifingersreijifingers

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 26, 2011

i guess...

well its ok i guess ... :)