Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 18, 2011 | 3:02 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice May 24, 2011
  • Daily Feature May 19, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

5/22/11-NEW ENDING ADDED

THIS IS A SATIRE. Captain Ig'nant represents the unfortunate hold of negative stereotypes placed upon the black community. I am black, most of the voices are black, and if you pass this off as "racist" and do attempt to understand the message, you are not doing any favor for the issues. This is meant to make people laugh yes but also point out the flaws in the current image of black America.

This is my animation for my junior thesis at the University of the Arts. And yes I got an 'A', haha, thank you Elliot Cowan.

Whenever a black person even THINKS about acting rationally, or dares to rise above stereotypes, your friendly hood-ass Captain Ignant is there to save the day! From African Americans getting shot for ridiculous reasons, to suburbanite black kids trying to be hood, Captain Ignant is there to keep black people the way they were "supposed" to be: IG'NANT!

Animated in Toon Boom Animate 2
Composited/Special Effects in Adobe After Effects CS5
Most voices recorded with Blue Yeti Microphone

Reviews


KonpachiKonpachi

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 26, 2011

LMAO!!!

LMAO! Bitten by a radioactive catfish... GENIUS!


People find this review helpful!

ONEintheinfiniteONEintheinfinite

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 20, 2011

OYG YES!!!

I love this sort of satire it's simply ingenious, make MORE



kizoushaidankizoushaidan

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 22, 2011

Everyone around us is captain ignant

you must watch football and enjoy it, you must drink beer with the guys, you must spend your money... You must get a tattoo, you must always be horny...

and most important... You must always cheer but act you are deeply unhappy at the same times...

Whoa, it takes much more effort to be a useless trainspotter than to become the king of Thailand.


People find this review helpful!

dargon11dargon11

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 26, 2011

i feel wrong writing this review

that was incredibly racist to the point were im not sure if i should absolutely love it or hate it enough to kill someone, but that was funny



CeraRainCeraRain

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 18, 2011

uhh...BRILLIANT!

HILARIOUS! I like your artwork, and I think the content was just down right funny. I think it could have been offensive to some people, but really, I think we all should just laugh about it. I give you a 10 for the courage to do it, and 5 for the good work. :)

And I agree with Master-Samus about the voice acting. It is a little difficult to understand what they're saying, but for the most part, I understood it. I think it was just the microphone clarity.