Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 18, 2011 | 3:02 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice May 24, 2011
  • Daily Feature May 19, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

5/22/11-NEW ENDING ADDED

THIS IS A SATIRE. Captain Ig'nant represents the unfortunate hold of negative stereotypes placed upon the black community. I am black, most of the voices are black, and if you pass this off as "racist" and do attempt to understand the message, you are not doing any favor for the issues. This is meant to make people laugh yes but also point out the flaws in the current image of black America.

This is my animation for my junior thesis at the University of the Arts. And yes I got an 'A', haha, thank you Elliot Cowan.

Whenever a black person even THINKS about acting rationally, or dares to rise above stereotypes, your friendly hood-ass Captain Ignant is there to save the day! From African Americans getting shot for ridiculous reasons, to suburbanite black kids trying to be hood, Captain Ignant is there to keep black people the way they were "supposed" to be: IG'NANT!

Animated in Toon Boom Animate 2
Composited/Special Effects in Adobe After Effects CS5
Most voices recorded with Blue Yeti Microphone

Reviews


lolmariosuxlolmariosux

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 22, 2011

OMG THIS IS ALL AWESOME AND SO TRUE

LOL THEY'RE ALL REALLY LIKE THAT----SO TRUEEE!



StefsupersaiyanStefsupersaiyan

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 30, 2011

Looool!

This is sooo funny!!! I love it!!! ^_^ Im half Jamaican and half Russian. I showed this to my mom (black) and she punched me in my face! :'( Good video though. :)


People find this review helpful!

hikarulovesyou82hikarulovesyou82

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 19, 2011

My rating system, just for you.

I've never done this before but I'm going to give you the average score:
Video: 8 cause it was funny.
Voice Acting: 8 cause it was funny.
Concept: 6.5 although I loved it, I thought it was like bringing us a huge step backward.

Overall score and star rating: 7.5 (+ an additional 2.5 for making me almost fall out of my chair)

Good job. Please make more.

Hikaru Loves You XOXO



GreenDragonXIIIGreenDragonXIII

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 18, 2011

A WINNER IS YOU

There's some high-level animation here, man. As far as craft goes, you've improved leaps and bounds, and it's great.

As for the content, I don't even need to tell you how funny. (Not that I haven't already on many occasions haha)

Keep up the excellent work. also, shout outs to JERK.


People find this review helpful!

VinceDashVinceDash

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 23, 2011

Reminds of Boondocks xD

Funny, provocative and with a message, i love it