Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 18, 2011 | 3:02 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice May 24, 2011
  • Daily Feature May 19, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

5/22/11-NEW ENDING ADDED

THIS IS A SATIRE. Captain Ig'nant represents the unfortunate hold of negative stereotypes placed upon the black community. I am black, most of the voices are black, and if you pass this off as "racist" and do attempt to understand the message, you are not doing any favor for the issues. This is meant to make people laugh yes but also point out the flaws in the current image of black America.

This is my animation for my junior thesis at the University of the Arts. And yes I got an 'A', haha, thank you Elliot Cowan.

Whenever a black person even THINKS about acting rationally, or dares to rise above stereotypes, your friendly hood-ass Captain Ignant is there to save the day! From African Americans getting shot for ridiculous reasons, to suburbanite black kids trying to be hood, Captain Ignant is there to keep black people the way they were "supposed" to be: IG'NANT!

Animated in Toon Boom Animate 2
Composited/Special Effects in Adobe After Effects CS5
Most voices recorded with Blue Yeti Microphone

Reviews


Kyo-MatsurameKyo-Matsurame

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 25, 2011

I agree

This should be a character on the Boondocks. I mean, the voice sounds like Charley Murphy anyway. Great flash.



ZukyuyzZukyuyz

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 25, 2011

So true

Ignorant hipsters.



Lavi180Lavi180

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 2, 2011

Captain Ignant!

Bitten by a radioactive mutha fuckin catfish!
Just perfect!



KidhoyaKidhoya

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 19, 2011

Wait...

Wasn't this ig'nant itself? I'm so confused but strangely feel fulfilled :D



vichy80vichy80

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 19, 2011

Amazing animation, amazing message

This was very spot on. I found this very entertaining, and the satire was great.

We can all definitely relate to it. Me, for an example, I'm often told that I don't "act Black". I found it hilarious, yet sad at the same time. It's the exact same principle Captain Ig'nant follows: it doesn't just affect Blacks, but others as well, and that was captured perfectly in the scene where the guy's Black friend is doing well in school.

The attitudes were also spot on. I know some fellow Blacks who would not do any better because "it's uppity" or "it's the White way". Ignorance was displayed well. It's like you got the main points of ignorance and compiled them well.

To those comparing this with the Boondocks, think about it. Why does this remind you of the Boondocks?
It didn't to me, but that's everyone's subjective thought.

I wish you the best with your thesis. :c)


People find this review helpful!