Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 18, 2011 | 3:02 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice May 24, 2011
  • Daily Feature May 19, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

5/22/11-NEW ENDING ADDED

THIS IS A SATIRE. Captain Ig'nant represents the unfortunate hold of negative stereotypes placed upon the black community. I am black, most of the voices are black, and if you pass this off as "racist" and do attempt to understand the message, you are not doing any favor for the issues. This is meant to make people laugh yes but also point out the flaws in the current image of black America.

This is my animation for my junior thesis at the University of the Arts. And yes I got an 'A', haha, thank you Elliot Cowan.

Whenever a black person even THINKS about acting rationally, or dares to rise above stereotypes, your friendly hood-ass Captain Ignant is there to save the day! From African Americans getting shot for ridiculous reasons, to suburbanite black kids trying to be hood, Captain Ignant is there to keep black people the way they were "supposed" to be: IG'NANT!

Animated in Toon Boom Animate 2
Composited/Special Effects in Adobe After Effects CS5
Most voices recorded with Blue Yeti Microphone

Reviews


niiicckkmaheeyaniiicckkmaheeya

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 20, 2011

Almost but not quite!

I laughed really hard, but still: some of the jokes were half formed and could have been taken further.

Overall, I loved it. You should send this to Aaron Mcgruder. Totally boondocks style.



SonnYojimboSonnYojimbo

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 20, 2011

The A is deserved

I don't live in the States but this is an issue everywhere and for all races. I love how you used the profanity to full effect, it's over the top but it works because of the message your implying.

The animation was smooth, music was perfect for style and the voice acting was superb. The comedy was spot on, especially the bit with the white guy and his friend. Overall a very impressive piece of animation.


People find this review helpful!
Chakra-X responds:

Thanks! I was concerned if only Americans would get the message, but that's awesome that people in other countries can respond to it like that.


BiggCaZv2BiggCaZv2

Rated 3 / 5 stars May 20, 2011

Its funny, because its racist.

Animation is alright. Music is good, but not used in the best way possible. Voice acting is probably the best part of this piece. Thumbs up



juankmlojuankmlo

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 20, 2011

good

reminds me of the boondocks


People find this review helpful!

LordCedrykLordCedryk

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 20, 2011

Awsome!

excellent! hope you make a series of this though.