Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 18, 2011 | 3:02 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice May 24, 2011
  • Daily Feature May 19, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

5/22/11-NEW ENDING ADDED

THIS IS A SATIRE. Captain Ig'nant represents the unfortunate hold of negative stereotypes placed upon the black community. I am black, most of the voices are black, and if you pass this off as "racist" and do attempt to understand the message, you are not doing any favor for the issues. This is meant to make people laugh yes but also point out the flaws in the current image of black America.

This is my animation for my junior thesis at the University of the Arts. And yes I got an 'A', haha, thank you Elliot Cowan.

Whenever a black person even THINKS about acting rationally, or dares to rise above stereotypes, your friendly hood-ass Captain Ignant is there to save the day! From African Americans getting shot for ridiculous reasons, to suburbanite black kids trying to be hood, Captain Ignant is there to keep black people the way they were "supposed" to be: IG'NANT!

Animated in Toon Boom Animate 2
Composited/Special Effects in Adobe After Effects CS5
Most voices recorded with Blue Yeti Microphone

Reviews


meee2meee2

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 24, 2011

kaptain igĀ“nant i need your help

one of my black friends talk white " avsome" ITS SIKKENING !!! :D


People find this review helpful!

YellowJelloYellowJello

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 24, 2011

Kinda funny

Really well animated, but I think I fall under the same category as a lot of viewers that just don't know what the hell is being said for about 80% of the video, or else my speakers are shit.

Regardless, it was funny (from what I could understand), and I'll be sharing it.



bjcdudebjcdude

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 24, 2011

That was funny as hell

But i must say to all these critics out there (like you said Chakra-x) just because the boondocks say "n***a" all the time, and the steryotype for the black community is to be violent and stupid, doesnt mean chakra-x here stole anything! it could be a major coincedence that he made an animation that just happens to resemble the boondocks. I for one do not care i think this clip is funny as Hell and totaly original. SO GOOD JOB CHAKRA 10/10! And to everyone else who wants to criticise: unless you can make anything better or funnier: SHUT IT!


People find this review helpful!

LasrevinuLasrevinu

Rated 2 / 5 stars May 24, 2011

Well aren't we creative?

The cartoon was okay, I personally don't feel like animating it in Toonboom did anything extra for it. The light effects really didn't add anything and the raster backgrounds were almost a step down from what I know you could have done in vector. Voice acting was good most of the time, but other than that I really don't see why you made this.

I've read the reviews, and I wouldn't be very original myself to say that the first scene was completely ripped from the Boondocks, and almost half the dialogue was directly ripped from the show too (complete with Charlie Murphy references/quote), but what actually made me laugh is how creative you were with how you copied the material. I love how you took designs from different characters on the show and shuffled them around so that the first scene wouldn't be so obvious. Your response to one of the guys who pointed out the plagiarism was "The Boondocks doesn't own n***a moments." You could have said that if it were just the second scene and nothing else (sans the "Kyaaaa bitch!"....erm I mean "Kyaaaaa motherfucker!" [super creative!]) Hell, even the chick in the last scene's design was taken from one of the extras on the Boondocks.

Look, I know you're just now trying to crawl fearfully from your safety blanket of Sonic/DBZ fan cartoons, but keep in mind that making original work means sucking for a second before you get to where you need to be. This wasn't an homage to the Boondocks, this was mostly just slick theft. When you're documenting things as specific as facial expressions and going through the trouble of changing quotes, that just looks incriminating. Keep trying if you care to impress somebody besides the typical audience who just laughs at what they've seen before. Even if it's bad, it's yours, and your excuses are terrible.


Chakra-X responds:

Why so demonizing?

Your only strong argument is the Kyaaah bitch because even I and personal friends have said "reminds me of Charlie murphy".

As for my art style, I have not touched sonic/dbz seriously since 2006. If I had to make all my characters with super exaggerated with big heads and wacky bodies, there would be less of a connection. But since Boondocks uses anime-like proportions and I look toward shows like Avatar: Last Airbender, Young Justice, and even (gasp!) Boondocks for accurate anatomy in animation, comparisons will be made. I like drawing muscles, fore arms, pictorials, etc. and I refuse to change that because Boondocks did so.

I have no idea by what you mean by the chick being stolen from boondocks. I based that off a customer I once had.

When I storyboarded this, I said "I want to black guys to argue and almost escalate". The first camera angles I felt were boring, so I looked at the "n**ga moment" scene to see how professional use camera angles to exaggerate an argument since they were similar scenes. People with your type of criticism think I am constantly analyzing Boondocks and thnking "LOL I CAN USE THAT". I knew there would claims of comparisons, and even calls for plagiarism, but I honestly think that that if anyone makes a "black satire with relatively accurate anatomy", then it's a Boondocks rip off.

And cut the snarkiness down.


eightball6219eightball6219

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 24, 2011

It's like

If the Boondocks put in a superhero