Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 18, 2011 | 3:02 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice May 24, 2011
  • Daily Feature May 19, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

5/22/11-NEW ENDING ADDED

THIS IS A SATIRE. Captain Ig'nant represents the unfortunate hold of negative stereotypes placed upon the black community. I am black, most of the voices are black, and if you pass this off as "racist" and do attempt to understand the message, you are not doing any favor for the issues. This is meant to make people laugh yes but also point out the flaws in the current image of black America.

This is my animation for my junior thesis at the University of the Arts. And yes I got an 'A', haha, thank you Elliot Cowan.

Whenever a black person even THINKS about acting rationally, or dares to rise above stereotypes, your friendly hood-ass Captain Ignant is there to save the day! From African Americans getting shot for ridiculous reasons, to suburbanite black kids trying to be hood, Captain Ignant is there to keep black people the way they were "supposed" to be: IG'NANT!

Animated in Toon Boom Animate 2
Composited/Special Effects in Adobe After Effects CS5
Most voices recorded with Blue Yeti Microphone

Reviews


09CArventos09CArventos

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars May 24, 2011

Well......................................

I may be white.
But I feel it's safe to say that black people really don't have to fall into that negative stereotype.



latieraevelatieraeve

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 24, 2011

I feel left out :(

Cap. got to everyone but me DX Now i gotta be all successful and Finnish collage and stuff



BirdFlooBirdFloo

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 24, 2011

i love this

this is amazing but the black kid at the end sounded kinda wierd



ReZlovesTechnoReZlovesTechno

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 24, 2011

Dude.

How many stupid reviews did you get before adding that ending?? Fuck the internet if they don't get satire, this was/is brilliant.

Keep it up (and improve your drawing a bit :D)



VekErroVekErro

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 24, 2011

Boondocks can suck a dick.

I dont care where you got the ideas for the story or the animation style from, that was damn funny and it pretty thoroughly mocks the 'Ghetto Black' stereotype. Good job.


People find this review helpful!