Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 18, 2011 | 3:02 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice May 24, 2011
  • Daily Feature May 19, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

5/22/11-NEW ENDING ADDED

THIS IS A SATIRE. Captain Ig'nant represents the unfortunate hold of negative stereotypes placed upon the black community. I am black, most of the voices are black, and if you pass this off as "racist" and do attempt to understand the message, you are not doing any favor for the issues. This is meant to make people laugh yes but also point out the flaws in the current image of black America.

This is my animation for my junior thesis at the University of the Arts. And yes I got an 'A', haha, thank you Elliot Cowan.

Whenever a black person even THINKS about acting rationally, or dares to rise above stereotypes, your friendly hood-ass Captain Ignant is there to save the day! From African Americans getting shot for ridiculous reasons, to suburbanite black kids trying to be hood, Captain Ignant is there to keep black people the way they were "supposed" to be: IG'NANT!

Animated in Toon Boom Animate 2
Composited/Special Effects in Adobe After Effects CS5
Most voices recorded with Blue Yeti Microphone

Reviews


COOL247COOL247

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 25, 2011

loved it!!

it is so rasism hope i spelled it right ene who (MY BLACK BF IS DOING GOOD IN SCHOOL AND TALKING WHITE!!! LOLOLOL



envysionenvysion

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 25, 2011

Nice Satire.

Well done, congrats on your A!



sino7sino7

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 25, 2011

Nice.

Really good job on really every thing, You could turn this into some kind of series or something. If you do Ill make sure to check it out. :D



MadcoweMadcowe

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 25, 2011

Like nomnomfingers said

since he is a superhero and all he should make a steriotypical ressurection haha

could be a nice series, and I like your style of drawing, and humor... dont know what more to say



BrunestudCrimsonMoonBrunestudCrimsonMoon

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 25, 2011

lol

nice new end i got surprised.