Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 18, 2011 | 3:02 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice May 24, 2011
  • Daily Feature May 19, 2011

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

5/22/11-NEW ENDING ADDED

THIS IS A SATIRE. Captain Ig'nant represents the unfortunate hold of negative stereotypes placed upon the black community. I am black, most of the voices are black, and if you pass this off as "racist" and do attempt to understand the message, you are not doing any favor for the issues. This is meant to make people laugh yes but also point out the flaws in the current image of black America.

This is my animation for my junior thesis at the University of the Arts. And yes I got an 'A', haha, thank you Elliot Cowan.

Whenever a black person even THINKS about acting rationally, or dares to rise above stereotypes, your friendly hood-ass Captain Ignant is there to save the day! From African Americans getting shot for ridiculous reasons, to suburbanite black kids trying to be hood, Captain Ignant is there to keep black people the way they were "supposed" to be: IG'NANT!

Animated in Toon Boom Animate 2
Composited/Special Effects in Adobe After Effects CS5
Most voices recorded with Blue Yeti Microphone

Reviews


TarileFreakTarileFreak

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 19, 2012

This submition is just fcking brilliant xD surely you the author were "bitten by a radioactive catfish"? xD



theqweschunmarktheqweschunmark

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 29, 2012

I'm black. I freaking love this. Just saying. It's so funny that you touched on stereotypes. Reminds me of a young Uncle Rukus (No relation). Keep up the good work!


People find this review helpful!

defjam43defjam43

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 27, 2012

why?

why he gotta get shot at da end ? why?



jeffrya1jeffrya1

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 24, 2012

All yeah

To much comedy, funny, and nothing else



hitmanwolfhitmanwolf

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 17, 2012

Creativity at it's best.

Good Work Chakra!