Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 18, 2011 | 3:02 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice May 24, 2011
  • Daily Feature May 19, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

5/22/11-NEW ENDING ADDED

THIS IS A SATIRE. Captain Ig'nant represents the unfortunate hold of negative stereotypes placed upon the black community. I am black, most of the voices are black, and if you pass this off as "racist" and do attempt to understand the message, you are not doing any favor for the issues. This is meant to make people laugh yes but also point out the flaws in the current image of black America.

This is my animation for my junior thesis at the University of the Arts. And yes I got an 'A', haha, thank you Elliot Cowan.

Whenever a black person even THINKS about acting rationally, or dares to rise above stereotypes, your friendly hood-ass Captain Ignant is there to save the day! From African Americans getting shot for ridiculous reasons, to suburbanite black kids trying to be hood, Captain Ignant is there to keep black people the way they were "supposed" to be: IG'NANT!

Animated in Toon Boom Animate 2
Composited/Special Effects in Adobe After Effects CS5
Most voices recorded with Blue Yeti Microphone

Reviews


DimanaTechDimanaTech

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 18, 2011

That Was Great

Congratulations on your work. It was a great piece indeed.

I like how you portray things in their perspective, almost in a sarcastic mirror effect. That's a very clever and neat way of raising public awareness. + For that.

Audio:
The sounds were nice, very well timed and toned. It could use a little improvement on voice sound. If you could amplify the low sounding voices a bit to match the other ones. I recommend a free editing software Audacity. The music was excellent and well themed in my opinion.

Visuals:
The art was good. The characters were well designed and portrayed but they kind of seemed compressed, making their outlines a bit sketchy or blurry. I believe this is because the characters were drawn much larger to add detail.

I enjoyed this episode enough to watch a series. So that means you're on the right path with this. Great job. Score 8/10


People find this review helpful!

GreenDragonXIIIGreenDragonXIII

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 18, 2011

A WINNER IS YOU

There's some high-level animation here, man. As far as craft goes, you've improved leaps and bounds, and it's great.

As for the content, I don't even need to tell you how funny. (Not that I haven't already on many occasions haha)

Keep up the excellent work. also, shout outs to JERK.


People find this review helpful!

TheGreeNateTheGreeNate

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 18, 2011

Excellen job!

I don't know if your university gave you an A for this but you got an A from me. When they first started talking I instantly thought BOONDOCKS! LOL! Really liked how you used the characters in 3d backgrounds. Also your drawings have improved a lot I see! Nice animation! You Ignant for this!


People find this review helpful!

SamGreenSamGreen

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 18, 2011

Is this racist?

I don't know I'm not black... I enjoyed the art and animation though voice acting could use a bit of work. Lots of words were hard to understand... That's all.


People find this review helpful!

IAmTheSpoonIAmTheSpoon

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 18, 2011

Hmmm

Jokes slightly below the line, but I can take it :)
I'm not a good person to rate this. I sure wanna see one - quoting - black n***a - to review this :)
Cheers.