Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 18, 2011 | 3:02 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice May 24, 2011
  • Daily Feature May 19, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

5/22/11-NEW ENDING ADDED

THIS IS A SATIRE. Captain Ig'nant represents the unfortunate hold of negative stereotypes placed upon the black community. I am black, most of the voices are black, and if you pass this off as "racist" and do attempt to understand the message, you are not doing any favor for the issues. This is meant to make people laugh yes but also point out the flaws in the current image of black America.

This is my animation for my junior thesis at the University of the Arts. And yes I got an 'A', haha, thank you Elliot Cowan.

Whenever a black person even THINKS about acting rationally, or dares to rise above stereotypes, your friendly hood-ass Captain Ignant is there to save the day! From African Americans getting shot for ridiculous reasons, to suburbanite black kids trying to be hood, Captain Ignant is there to keep black people the way they were "supposed" to be: IG'NANT!

Animated in Toon Boom Animate 2
Composited/Special Effects in Adobe After Effects CS5
Most voices recorded with Blue Yeti Microphone

Reviews


KremcoinKremcoin

Rated 3 / 5 stars May 19, 2011

Well...

The animation was pretty cool, and I hope that gets you a good grade.
However the voice acting could have been worked on quite a bit more, and the message that it seemed you where trying to get across was lost without proper contrast. Maybe work on script writing a bit more, too.

However I think you have a great deal of potential, so keep em coming!



ShadowGrickenShadowGricken

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 19, 2011

WTF

what the hell did I just watch


People find this review helpful!

EmperorMaxEmperorMax

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 19, 2011

Hilarious!

Most people laugh about this stuff...(In private).



Halcyon3210Halcyon3210

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 19, 2011

Racist? More like Hilar-acist!

There were so many hilarious things in this video. The watermelon logo, the catfish, his ringtone, and the dramatic white guy were some of my favorites. My only problem is that there are a few parts I can't understand even after watching it 4 times. Also, that kid's voice at the end freaks me out.



DemonX-DemonicDemonX-Demonic

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 19, 2011

LoL

this is good and the animation is pretty dam good to
good job man