Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 18, 2011 | 3:02 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice May 24, 2011
  • Daily Feature May 19, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

5/22/11-NEW ENDING ADDED

THIS IS A SATIRE. Captain Ig'nant represents the unfortunate hold of negative stereotypes placed upon the black community. I am black, most of the voices are black, and if you pass this off as "racist" and do attempt to understand the message, you are not doing any favor for the issues. This is meant to make people laugh yes but also point out the flaws in the current image of black America.

This is my animation for my junior thesis at the University of the Arts. And yes I got an 'A', haha, thank you Elliot Cowan.

Whenever a black person even THINKS about acting rationally, or dares to rise above stereotypes, your friendly hood-ass Captain Ignant is there to save the day! From African Americans getting shot for ridiculous reasons, to suburbanite black kids trying to be hood, Captain Ignant is there to keep black people the way they were "supposed" to be: IG'NANT!

Animated in Toon Boom Animate 2
Composited/Special Effects in Adobe After Effects CS5
Most voices recorded with Blue Yeti Microphone

Reviews


godboy9LOLgodboy9LOL

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 19, 2011

like..WTF

what the hell did I just watch



hikarulovesyou82hikarulovesyou82

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 19, 2011

My rating system, just for you.

I've never done this before but I'm going to give you the average score:
Video: 8 cause it was funny.
Voice Acting: 8 cause it was funny.
Concept: 6.5 although I loved it, I thought it was like bringing us a huge step backward.

Overall score and star rating: 7.5 (+ an additional 2.5 for making me almost fall out of my chair)

Good job. Please make more.

Hikaru Loves You XOXO



WayeroWayero

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars May 19, 2011

You turned this in as a school project?

While I think it's humorous, this seems like a controversial thing to turn in as a school assignment, but thats another issue.

The cartoon itself is funny, not LOL funny, but good enough for me to acknowledge the humor. It reminds me of the skits in The Boondocks about ignorant moments of stereotypical Black people.

The voice work seemed a little out of sync, but other than that I approve.



kamil-fuckerkamil-fucker

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 19, 2011

Fucking awesome

I lol'd, finally some non-PC flash.
5/5 and make moar of cap'n ig'nant please.


People find this review helpful!

MindChamberMindChamber

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 19, 2011

hahaha fuck that was hilarious

And Kremcoin can eat a dick, n***a that shit was perfect

" I think the message that you were trying to get across was lost without contrast"

Lol eat yo tea n biscuits n***a, blaoow blaoow


People find this review helpful!