Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 18, 2011 | 3:02 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice May 24, 2011
  • Daily Feature May 19, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

5/22/11-NEW ENDING ADDED

THIS IS A SATIRE. Captain Ig'nant represents the unfortunate hold of negative stereotypes placed upon the black community. I am black, most of the voices are black, and if you pass this off as "racist" and do attempt to understand the message, you are not doing any favor for the issues. This is meant to make people laugh yes but also point out the flaws in the current image of black America.

This is my animation for my junior thesis at the University of the Arts. And yes I got an 'A', haha, thank you Elliot Cowan.

Whenever a black person even THINKS about acting rationally, or dares to rise above stereotypes, your friendly hood-ass Captain Ignant is there to save the day! From African Americans getting shot for ridiculous reasons, to suburbanite black kids trying to be hood, Captain Ignant is there to keep black people the way they were "supposed" to be: IG'NANT!

Animated in Toon Boom Animate 2
Composited/Special Effects in Adobe After Effects CS5
Most voices recorded with Blue Yeti Microphone

Reviews


shadow5669shadow5669

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 19, 2011

it's not raicst

it's not racist if black people help made it or else if they thought it was racist then why would they voice act for it?

i just think it's just humor i mean look at comedys? like dave chepple he's back but yet he makes fun of his own race and also sometimes whites it's funny and i dont take it as racism sometimes you gotta step back and think *could i be racist for takeing things to far when they are only ment for jokes and comedy?* i mean theirs a huge differnace but it's not to hard to tell that this was made for jokes and laughs.



ABlindPoetABlindPoet

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 19, 2011

Oh mayn

"This racism is killing me inside!" Thank you for the laughs. The animation was sub par but the dialogue, sarcasim and comedy made up for it.



LtSpears1991LtSpears1991

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars May 19, 2011

Great animation and all...

But really...REALLY? It takes a lot for me to actually want to log into my Newgrounds account and actually write a review.

The overall animation is great as well as the voice acting and syncing...but it is impossible for me to overlook how incredibly racist this animation is. Now I will not lie, I did laugh, it was funny and (hopefully) you did it for the humor...but just think about what your animating and what consequences they might have. So I will give a five for the animation and voice acting. But that is all.



yesyshyesysh

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 19, 2011

Come on people

Don't get mad its just for a laugh.LOL very funny it reminds me of a show called boondocks you all should check it out.


People find this review helpful!

OppaisoftOppaisoft

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 19, 2011

Funny ass shit

Looks like something right out of The Boondocks. Great job!